Funny products

Everyone jokes about the ridiculous container sizes sold at Costco. I always enjoy going to the store with Costco “newbies” and seeing their reactions when they spot the 8 gallon (okay, slight exaggeration) jar of mayonnaise or the triple-pack of large whipped cream canisters (no exaggeration). Although there are many products that fall into the huge size and/or multipack items, I find a few products particularly humerous.

1.Cream cheese:

I can’t explain this one but it makes me laugh every time. Check it out.

2. Kiwis:

Not only do you have to buy about 20 kiwis at a time, these kiwis are enormous…at least I *think* they are kiwis…It is possible that they are potatoes…No, wait, I also spotted potatoes, which, in turn, look like footballs. (I am not sure if Costco sells footballs but if it does, I’m sure they are the size of canoes and sold in a 6-pack (since really, who only buys one or two footballs at once?)

3. Strawberries:

A memory from years ago makes this 4 lb package of strawberries funny to me. I love strawberries and always wanted to try the gorgeous looking ones at Costco. Although reluctant, due to the large package and the short shelf life of strawberries, my parents agreed that they looked too good to pass up. However, as anticipated, after I had my fill, we were left with tons of strawberries. Never one to waste food, my dad started eating punch bowl sized bowls of strawberries to “beat the rot.” I can still see him sitting in front of these bowls.

4. Tuna:

I spent a few summers working in kitchens when I was in college so I actually have made sandwiches with these enormous cans of tuna. However, when I see them, I just imagine someone with a (well-fed) large litter of cats opening this can for the pets.

5. Three pack of reading glasses in assorted colors:

Beyond attempts at eyeware/outfit color coordination, I thought of a few potential uses for this item…putting on the second pair to help one find the “lost” first pair (not helpful if the first pair was misplaced on the wearer’s head), to lend to others when they forget theirs (actually, I have been to Passover Seders where a pair of reading glasses has been passed around while we went around the table reading the Haggadah…this pack would eliminate the need to share), or as party favors for a senior citizen’s book group.

6. Toilet paper:

Costco’s top selling item, this product without an expiration date can be bought anytime and stored. Before I used to be a frequent Costco-goer, I never actually saw my parents buy it. Therefore, (along with light bulbs and batteries), toilet paper was one of those items that just seemed to appear (wait, toilet paper doesn’t just regenerate in the closet??) What is even funnier to me is that I recently discussed this with a friend who had the same experience.  Then, later that day, I happened to read a novel in which the main character complained about how much toilet paper her parents purchased at Costco for her.

Are there any products that you find particularly funny? Feel free to also send pictures of them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Funny products

  1. Stanley says:

    Hi,
    My wife and I go to Costco’s even though some of the merchandise is so big, although then we give some to our grandchildren which makes my wife very happy. The other day we bought some sour cream and potatoes. I don’t know where Costco’s finds them, but those potatoes are big. (My wife asked a young customer to help put them in the shopping wagon. I bet each potato was two pounds. I shared one half with my wife. It was like eating a canoe filled with potato. The sour cream will last a few months and then we’ll use the empty container for a flower pot. We also like the cashews we buy at Costco’s better than the nuts at Trader Joe. They are bigger and tastier.

    Stanley

    Like

  2. cruisingcostco says:

    Glad you appreciated my comparison to canoes…it’s good to know that readers have a sense of humor. I have never bought sour cream there as I have little use for it, but does it really last a few months? I find that a bit long for opened dairy products…I tend to use yogurt or cottage cheese for three weeks at most. I have not thought to use the empty containers as flower pots but with a little decorating, I can see that working. I agree with you about the nuts. I actually prefer the mixed nuts at Costco to the plain cashews but both are delicious. The size certainly changes the portion size though, doesn’t it? Given how large they are, three cashews is probably the equivalent of about 10 anywhere else!

    Like

Leave a comment