Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola

Granola is ubiquitous these days. It is found at every grocery store, comes in a variety of creative (and sometimes frightening) flavors, and can be ordered at restaurants. Given this, I am amazed that I did not have my first granola cereal until I went to college.

I don’t know the brand of granola that my college served but it basically tasted like crunched up Nature Valley Honey n’ Oats granola bars (of course, this brand has since developed its own granola). While good, it was very sweet and oily. Therefore, despite enjoying eating it, I was left with a heavy, weighed-down feeling upon finishing. I then discovered Cascadian Farms Oats n’ Honey granola, which is delicious. It is crispy and light. However, I still found it a bit sweet.

I decided to try Kirkland Ancient Grains Granola, figuring that the mixture of a variety of whole grains and almonds might lead to a slightly less sugary cereal. (And had the assurance that, if I did not like it, my brother would take it, thereby alleviating my concern about wasting food). After my first serving, I immediately told my brother that he better go buy his own granola, because I was certainly going to finish mine! It is delicious. Crunchy and sweet, without being cloying, it contains a mixture of grains and sliced almonds. The consistency is slightly irregular, with some very large clusters amidst some crumbs. However, a few smashes with a fist can take care of that! I was convinced that it must contain coconut, but a review of the ingredients proved me wrong. Nevertheless, if you like coconut, you will appreciate the taste.

image

One serving (3/4 cup) may seem small, but it is quite filling when mixed with either milk or yogurt, and is equally delicious in both. The granola maintains its crunch in liquid longer than other granolas (in fact, my sole “complaint” about this product is that it makes my jaw hurt from so much crunching!) and when it does start to lose its crispness (which tends to happen to me because I am a slow eater but may not be an issue for most) it still tastes good, leaving behind a sweet milk that should appeal even to those who use the milk only to get the cereal wet before discarding it when the cereal is finished.

As I have said, I love eating the granola in milk or yogurt. It is also a great snack on its own. I have not tried it yet, but I imagine that it would be delicious sprinkled on top of hot applesauce or as a topping for a fruit crisp.

For reviews:

http://www.amazon.com/Kirkland-Signature-Natures-Organic-Ancient/dp/B004885T38#customerReviews

This granola costs $7.39 for 35.3 ounces (two bags included).

What do you think of this granola? Any other good uses for it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola

  1. Pingback: Costco vs. Supermarkets | Cruising Costco

  2. Pingback: It’s “organic time” at Costco | Cruising Costco

  3. Pingback: Product Review: Dr. Praeger’s harvest veggie burgers | Cruising Costco

  4. Pingback: Additional types of Costco shoppers | Cruising Costco

  5. Pingback: Alcohol at Costco (Part 2 of 2) | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment