Would You Recommend?

Okay, I have been keeping up this blog since November and have hopefully provided a good service. Don’t worry, I’m not stopping. (I flatter myself by assuming people would care!) But…I would like some of you to help me out. There are a bunch of food items at Costco that I would like to try but, given how many items I already enjoy on a regular basis and how much of a commitment some of the items can be (30 pounds of cheese anyone?), I’d like to know your thoughts on some of these products. I have many but will stick with 19 and may repeat this request another time.

1. The muffins.Years ago I tried a blueberry-lemon one (they no longer sell these in my stores). I love muffins but worry that the Costco ones may be too dry. I am particularly interested in blueberry (sometimes blueberry muffins are basically plain with one or two token berries…I want lots of berry!) and corn.

2. Cheesecake. I have written about loving the one from BJs but have never tried this one.

3. The food court frozen yogurt. I love soft serve ice cream but am skeptical of frozen yogurt. Is it artificial tasting?

4. The three-pack of variety pound cakes. I tend to buy Entenmanns, which is surprisingly good for a packaged baked good. How does this compare?

5. Kirkland Premium vanilla ice cream. Vanilla is boring so I usually opt for other flavors (nothing with too much but a chocolate chip or a mint chocolate chip are delicious) but I find that, if the quality is really great, I prefer plain flavors so that the creaminess is not hidden by the add-in distractions (side note: this is why I find it such a shame that Ben and Jerry’s takes their high quality base ice cream and adds cake, buts, swirls, etc…no need).

6. Royal Fjord honey maple salmon. Now that one of my old favorites, the Royal Fjord pepper salmon is gone, I’m looking for a cold salmon substitute (not lox). I worry that the flavor will be overwhelming. I love the taste of salmon and dint want it to be too sweet.

7. Beigel’s Apple pinwheels. They are nondairy, which doesn’t usually bode well for baked goods, but I do like apple and cinnamon.

8. Dr. Praeger’s veggie burgers (the frozen, not refrigerated ones). I used to buy the California burgers but this variety has chickpeas and I think quinoa. Any good?

9. The variety pack of kosher cheese…I know it has cheddar, dill cheese, and two others. With this, I am worried about keeping it free from old. How are the flavors? And does the cheese last if wrapped well?

10. Peaches. They look amazing but the pack is just so big. Are they as sweet and juicy as they look?

Thanks!

Any things you want reviews of? You can ask hete and we can try to help each other.

And if you’d like to write a review of an item, let me know and we can try to work it out. Hey, more  Costco-loving heads are better than one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Would You Recommend?

  1. Bethany says:

    Dr. Praegers veggie burgers and the Costco cheesecake are both great, you should definitely give them a try! We just had the cheesecake this weekend for my dad’s birthday. 🙂

    Like

  2. Cruisingcostco says:

    I have liked the other Dr. P’s products I’ve had, with the exception of the sweet potato pancakes. He was actually my grandma’s cardiologist before he died. Dedham Costco used to sell the spinach pancakes, which are excellent. Too bad they disappeared. I should try these veggie burgers at some point.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Kirkland Products: 12 to buy | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment