Um…not sure it is *quite* big enough.. (Part 1 of 2)

Obviously Costco is known for selling items in bulk and there is an endless supply of jokes to be made about the large quantity of items people buy at Costco (and some of the items are so large that just looking at them is comical…hello ridiculously large tub of cream cheese…) However, although the ability to buy large items in large quantities is one of the appeals of Costco, sometimes they may be taking things a little too far.

Here is an article highlighting 10 ridiculously large items at Costco. Because I have difficulty containing my desire to provide commentary on almost everything (hey, you are choosing to read this…), I will say a few things about each one.

And for fun, I will also rate each item on my newly designed (not yet empirically validated) scale: Cruising Costco’s “Ridiculous-even-for-Costco Scale” (the REFC Scale)

https://www.businessinsider.com/costco-sells-big-nutella-bear-mac-and-cheese-2019-2#4-pound-carrot-walnut-cake-1399-10

1. Cheese wedding cake, $439.99

According to the article, this is a 24-pound cake made out of five different cheese layers (Red Leicester, Danish Blue, Murcia al Vino, Tuscan Sheep’s Cheese, and Brillat Savarin Triple Cream Brie…I do not know much about cheese so I do not know about the textures, whether these would “go together”, etc.) and can serve between 105 and 150 people.

So I guess the idea of weddings at Costco is not so silly after all (Wedding registries and ceremonies at Costco??).

However, although I know that many people adore cheese (I am not one of those people–cheese is fine but I have never understood the obsession) but I cannot imagine wanting a wedding cake made of cheese. Now, I know wedding cakes are not reputed to be the tastiest cakes, but at least *try* for a dessert-like variety. Plus, given the tradition of saving some for the first anniversary, a year old piece of cheese (even though cheese is aged and even though it can be frozen) sounds pretty unappetizing. On the plus side, it is much cheaper than most wedding cakes! Also, this is quite a large range of people to feed…

REFC score:   7

2. 93″ Plush Bear, $289.99

This bear is almost eight feet tall, and apparently has been on multiple TV shows. How could anyone not want this bear? It is so cute and seems like it would be comforting to anyone. I just wonder how one would wrap it…it would also be fun to put it in the car and strap it in and see if other drivers reacted to your “passenger.”

REFC score:  6

3. 7-pound tub of Nutella, $21.99

I have never purchased Nutella so I was not familiar with the price, but, according to the article, this a great deal for $22. I know many people love Nutella and I thought back to an article from several years ago about how, after Colombia University started offering Nutella in the dining center, students were stealing it. (And apparently in quantities that far exceeded the harmless and assumed piece of bread or cup of cereal…) At least if Colombia had been purchasing it at Costco, they could have saved some money (not that Colombia is exactly poor…)

REFC score:  1 (I really don’t think this is so odd!)

4. 27-pound tub of mac and cheese, $89.99

Containing 180 servings, that is a lot of macaroni and cheese! However, I find it alarming that a “dairy” product could last 20 years (apparently the pasta and cheese packages are stored with oxygen absorbers for longer shelf life). Although reviews are positive, I just can’t see eating something that has been in the pantry for two decades (antique macaroni and cheese, anyone?)

REFC score: 8

5. Emergency food kits, $4,699-$5,999

Costco won’t let you down in an emergency.

I actually wrote an entire post devoted to this item (Costco ‘s motto: Be Prepared), so clearly I thought it was a ridiculous product! I just wonder how many people have bought this…

REFC score: 8

What do you think of these items?

Have you purchased any? Would you consider purchasing any?

 

How would you rate them on the REFC scale?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Um…not sure it is *quite* big enough.. (Part 1 of 2)

  1. Pingback: Um…not sure it is *quite* big enough.. (Part 2 of 2) | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment