A day in the life of a “Sample Giver”

One well-known “feature” of Costco is that the store gives out samples of items.  One of my earliest and favorite posts identified several potential types of “samplers” at Costco (What kind of “sampler” are you?). 

Even though he posts that get the most “traffic” are the product reviews, I like to mix it up and have some fun by including different types of posts. So…here I am returning to the topic of samples.

When discussing conversations/negotiations, it is common to refer to the “right-hand” and “left hand” columns. The right hand column refers to the actual dialogue, whereas the left hand column refers to one’s unspoken internal dialogue (e.g., assumptons; reactions). When I have observed customers by the sample stations at Costco, I often hear questions/comments that I find funny. I imagine that, if I were the employee, I might have some pretty sarcastic thoughts (I tend to be sarcastic but hopefully not too mean) even though I respond in polite ways.

Here are 10 potential sample scenarios. For each, I give an example of a sample product, the customer comment or behavior and both the left (L) and right (R) hand column responses of the “Sample Giver” (I’m sure that is the official term :-))

1. Sample: Kirkland jelly beans

Customer: “Giving out samples much be an interesting job, huh?”

L: “Oh, sure. I LOVE spending hours counting out three jelly beans and putting them in a little paper cup…”

R: “It certainly can be. I get to talk to lots of people all day and learn about new products.”

2. Sample: Chocolate layer cake
Customer: “You are my favorite person today!”
L: “People love me! I am so popular!”
R: “This chocolate cake sure is delicious, isn’t it? I am never quite as popular when I am at the tofu sample station”
3. Sample: Miniature quiches
Customer: “Not ready yet?”
L: “Oh, actually they are. I’m just leaving them in the microwave to try to annoy as many customers as possible…obviously they are not ready! Why don’t you shop a little and then come back???”
R: “Should be just another minute or two. Thank you for being patient.”
4. Sample: Cheese
Customer: takes a sample and eats it while hovering over sample table
L:  “Is it really so hard to get your bite of cheese and then take a few steps back? I guess it does make sense to stand this close to me given that Costco is such a small store and pressed for space…”
R: “Pretty good, isn’t it? You may want to also expore the other cheeses in the department–it is right over there.”
5.  Sample: Cbocolate chip cookies
Customer: repeatedly returns to the sample station and acts like it was his/her first sample
L: “Um, do you really think that I don’t recognize you? You have been here 20 times…and you do this every single week!”
R: “Would you like to try a cookie?”
6. Sample: Piece of apple
Customer: “Oh, what’s this? Apple? I guess I’ll try a sample.”
L: “Right, because you have never had a piece of apple before and have NO idea what it tastes like…don’t pretend it’s a new food for you…just admit that you like free bites!”
R:  “Delicious and healthy–enjoy!”
7. Sample: Bran flakes
Customer: “Not bad for a healthy cereal…Where do I find these?”
L:  “Well, sir, given that I am serving cereal and am in the cereal aisle, I think you could guess that you can find the product in this very aisle!”
R: “Go down this aisle past me, and they are on the lower shelf about halfway down the aisle. Let me know if you have trouble finding them”
8. Sample: New Kirkland chocolate truffles?
Customer: “Are these any good?”
L: “Try them and decide if you like them–that is the point of having samples!”
R: “So far they seem to be a hit. Let me know what you think.”
9.  Sample: Ziti
Customer: “Ah, boxed pasta…I guess it is okay for a convenience food but it cannot even come close to homemade. Have you ever had real Italian food? Let me tell you, my mother was native Italian and wow could she cook. Pasta, meatballs, cannoli..you cannot even imagine how good it was. Here, let me give you a few recipes…”
L: “I know, I know, everyone’s Italian mother was the “best” cook. But, honestly, I have been standing here for the past four hours and I just want to give out these samples and leave…I really don’t want a recipe.”
R: “Wow, how nice that you have recipes from your mother and nice memories of her cooking. Authentic cuisine is always preferable.”
10. Sample: Salmon
Customer: “Awfully small piece, isn’t it?”
L: “It is a sample–were you expecting an entree sized portion? If you want a meal, the food court is right past the checkout.”
R: “If you like it, feel free to have additional samples.”
I know, I know, I should not assume that Sample Givers are thinking these things–they may very well be pleased to answer all questions and interact with customers. I actually think I would probably like the job for a short period of time as I do love talking to people. However, the sarcastic part of my brain could not help generating these scenarios.
How might you react in these situations?
Any others you can think of?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment