Product Review: Shea Moisure 100% Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

I don’t spend a lot of money on hair care. I have never dyed it (people assume I do because I have natural red streaks in the winter and blond streaks in the summer), do not get “fancy” hair cuts, or buy expensive styling products. I make these decisions for a few reasons: first, as I am sure you can tell, I am frugal. Second, I do not have the patience to spend a lot of time on my hair so it would be a waste to use expensive products to then just put my hair up. Third, my hair is wavy/curly and very dry so it is pretty difficult to control anyway (I know, maybe with the “right” products, I could control it but…see reason #2…)

I used to purchase shampoo and conditioner largely for scent (I actually used to love the strong smelling apple, peach, raspberry, etc. hair products). More recently, I have used the large bottles of Pantene or Dove from BJs (hey, I’ve admitted that I like BJs too…). However, when I got my hair cut, the stylists consistently commented on the dryness and the negative effects of some of these popular brands–especially Pantene. I continued to use Dove but was interested in trying a new product.

I looked at Costco but waited for a sale since I did not know specifically what I wanted and figured that a sale would provide me with a reason to select one over another. Well, well, well…this summer the Shea Moisure 100% Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Shampoo and Conditioner were on special. I had read that coconut oil is great for the hair (especially dry hair!) and I love the smell of coconut, so I gave it a try…and now I wish I had bought more and/or that it will be on sale again soon.

This shampoo and conditioner smell delicious (but not overly strong). I don’t notice too much difference (because I never pay that much attention) but they seem to provide more moisture to my hair. (Of course, it may be the placebo effect–but, hey, I’m okay with that). It is summer so my hair tends to be frizzy and pulled back most of the time anyway, but I still think that it feels cleaner (i.e., less “product build up”) and feels better. I am not using it every day because I still want to “save it” (old habits…) and I read that it is helpful to alternate hair products. However, I do like using it and plan to buy it again. I would also like to experiment with other shampoos and conditioners.

Do you buy shampoo/conditioner at Costco? If so, what brands?

Any other brands you would recommend?

Do you notice a big difference across brands?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Shea Moisure 100% Extra Virgin Coconut Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. Lee Phung says:

    I like this shampoo and conditioner a lot too. However, one thing I seriously warn people is that it can leave very dangerously slippery residue on the tub which can cause serious falls. It happened to me twice and the second fall was severe enough with several doctor visits. I must have carried on a habit of using two pumps of shampoo/conditioner each time shampooing my hair from other brands and that is obviously the cause. Just reduced it to one pump each does make a big difference on the tub in terms of slippage. Also a tub mat is necessary in my case from now on! I hope it helps preventing others from falling in the tub as I did and it can be fatal I believe!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the tip! I had not noticed it was any more slippery!

    Like

Leave a comment