Benefits of a nearby Costco on a beach vacation: Part 2 of 2

Last week I posted the first five reasons that I think it would be beneficial to have a Costco nearby on a beach vacation (Benefits of a nearby Costco on a beach vacation: Part 1 of 2). Here the second of the batch of 10.

6. Fix glasses

I am a big fan of the Costco optical department ((Costco optical:my experience; Costco Optical: Updated from recent experience)). After traveling on an airplane, in the car, sleeping on the beach, leaving them lying around in the hotel room, or sitting on them on a beach chair, glasses may need a quick tune up or tightening or nose pad replacement. Why limit comfort if you can get them quickly repaired at Costco optical?

7. Beach items

These items are not overly cheap and certainly not disposable or the type of items you’d just buy and then not use again. However, sometimes you may be flying somewhere and unable to take larger items. In these cases, knowing that Costco sells beach chairs, water rafts, large towels, is helpful. You could then donate them to the hotel or house at which you are staying. 

8. Books/activity books

I have always read a lot…multiple novels each week.  Despite the convenience of reading on the computer, stick to physical books. I just like books! I stick to the library because otherwise I would spend waaay too much on books. However, if not driving to the destination, multiple books with limited packing space doesn’t work too well. So, at least if Costco is nearby, there is a place to get a book or two for the beach or pool. They also often have a few activity books, and plenty of regular notebooks for journaling.

9.  Sunscreen and lotion

I have often underestimated how much sunscreen I’d need on vacation. And, even with plenty of sunscreen, I have occasionally gotten more burned than anticipated.  Costco has large containers of sunscreen, and huge containers of lotion and Vaseline for dealing with prevention and treatment. 

10. Explore novel Costcos

Okay, fine, this may only be seen as a benefit for me (aka someone so obsessed with Costco that she writes a blog about it…) Different locations carry slightly different items and it can be fun to check them out. Now, would I opt to spend the day at Costco vs Universal Studios or the Grand Canyon ? No, but as an activity during a down period or in poorer weather, I’d certainly  be up for it. The only problem is I may get upset if other places have items I want!  (Although I’m guessing it will not come as a shock that I have no hesitations about requesting items. As a kid, I wrote my first “company email” to request that Edy’s bring back their strawberry chocolate chip ice cream.)

Have I convinced you about the benefits of a nearby Costco when on a beach vacation?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment