To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee

In the most recent post, I mentioned the bakery items that a professional baker/bakery owner/recipe creator recommends buying and not buying (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 1 of 2): Advice from a Professional.) In this current post, I will discuss items that are suggested NOT to buy (I think it is by an employee from the bakery section). The two articles are largely consistent with respect to what not to buy and I will comment when they are not. It is also important to recognize that, in the current post, most reasons provided for not buying items are not based on taste, but rather on package size,  nutrition and ingredients. They also often suggest ways to adjust for the “criticisms”. 

1. Bagels

The main problem mentioned with respect to the bagels is the requirement to buy 24 at a time (hey, this is Costco). The quantity can be problematic because they often get moldy within a few days. However, the article explains that that upside of the “mold problem” is that it is the result of being made with fewer preservatives than other items. It also suggests freezing the bagels to eat over time. 

I don’t think I have tried these bagels. I fully admit to being a “bagel snob”, growing up eating New York bagels. Others in my family do purchase them. Ironically, another recent review article compared several grocery store bagels and rated the ones at Costco as the best. 

2. Cheesecake 
Not surprisingly, the reasons provided for not buying the cheesecake have nothing to do with taste. Therefore, despite being “inconsistent”, with the other post in terms of whether to buy or not, they agree on the great taste. The reasons provided for not buying it are the nutritional statistics (although who eats cheesecake for the nutrition???). However, they suggest cutting the pre marked slices into even thinner ones as a way to have a taste without overdoing the calories, fat, etc. 

As I mentioned, although family members have purchased this cheesecake for events, I have not tasted it (but have had the delicious BJs Wellesley Farms cheesecake) but it certainly looks good. I would definitely require a full piece, not being someone who is satisfied by only a few bites of dessert.

3. Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Again, consistent with the other bakery post, these cookies are described as being good (the second article ranks them higher than the first article does) but not worth buying. According to the present article, the concerns are the nutritional statistics and the use of artificial ingredients. Therefore, the article suggests buying and cooking regular cookie dough.

As I mentioned, I would guess that I’ve tried these cookies at some point but not for a very long time. Although they look very good and I have been tempted at times, I don’t eat cookies too often.  I would certainly prefer a fresh cookie (even if taken from the freezer and reheated). However, it is often more convenient to just buy packaged cookies for the times I eat them. Again, family members buy them and they are definitely a good treat to serve at a casual party. 

4. Croissants 

The article praises the croissants for the use of fresh butter. However, it mentions the limitations of shelf life and nutrition. As one would likely expect for croissants, they apparently lose a lot of their quality after only one to two days and the article does not recommend freezing them. Therefore, unless one wants to eat all 12 of them within a few days, they are likely to get wasted. And, given the nutritional statistics the article cited as problematic, it is probably not a good idea to eat that many in a short time.

I know that I am unusual in that I don’t particularly like croissants. I did have some delicious croissants in Paris many years ago. However, I would not opt to eat them now as croissants do not appeal to me. Therefore, although they have been served at events, I have not tried them. 


5. Double Chocolate Muffins

These muffins are one of the few items on this list in which the main criticism is actually taste. Apparently, despite the name and the appearance, the chocolate flavor is weaker than expected or desired and the muffins are dry. 

I have not tried these muffins. Although I like muffins and I like chocolate, I would prefer my chocolate baked goods in the form of brownies or cake. For muffins, I would choose almost any flavor except chocolate, such as lemon poppy, blueberry, or coffee cake.


6. Danishes

The article discusses multiple variations of danish, with different problems. They criticize the Lemon Cream Cheese Danish for being too light on the lemon, heavy on the cheese, and soggy (and suggest the Apple or Strawberry Cream Cheese danishes instead). The complaint about the Almond Danish is the nutritional statistics. Finally, the article mentions that customers have complained that the Cherry Danish is now only sold as a two-pack. However, it says that, although they lose a little quality, they are good even after freezing. 

I’ve always preferred muffins and currently have no interest in Danish, generally finding it too sweet. I did used to like cheese or raspberry Danish on occasion but now would not eat them unless extremely hungry and without other options. Although I like almonds, I tend not to like almond flavored baked goods. Finally, although I like both fresh cherries and the fake cherry flavor used for candy, I have no interest in the thick cherry filling used in baked goods. Therefore, like croissants, although served at events I have attended, I have never tried these Danish.

7. Braided Apple Strudel 

Although this Strudel “loses points” for the nutritional statistics (although again, the article suggests cutting them into smaller pieces), the main complaint is that, unlike the other items on the list, they are not baked at the store.

The article compares the Strudel to MacDonald’s apple pies. When I saw this comparison, I thought about the Hostess apple pies my family used to buy on occasion. I remember heating them up and really liking them (despite burning my fingers and mouth every time). Strudel seems similar to Danish though, so I am not interested in trying these. For an apple treat, I’d prefer apple crisp or real apple pie.

8. Strawberries-and-Cream Bar Cake

The two articles about bakery items are consistent with respect to not buying this seasonal cake. However, this article cites reasons other than the taste as the reason. The article praises the cake for the whipped cream-like icing and the lack of artificial ingredients used. However, it criticizes the cake for not including real strawberries, instead being made with strawberry puree.

I like strawberry shortcake. I remember my grandmother making it for me when my birthday fell during Passover so that I could still have a cake. (this was before the fancier kosher for Passover cakes were sold widely). She would make a few kosher for Passover sponge cakes and then add freshly whipped cream (so good!) and lots of fresh strawberries. The actual berries are critical. The mention of the lack of berries made me think of the blueberry muffins served in my college Dining Center. They did not seem to actually have any berries in them so we joked that someone injected them with a few squirts of blue due to pretend. Anyway, tangents aside, I have not tried this cake.


9. Sheet Cake

The only reasons provided for not buying the premade cakes in either vanilla with cheesecake mousse filling or chocolate cake with chocolate mousse, both topped with buttercream, are that these are the only two options. Then, the only reason given for not buying custom made cakes is the requirement to order them two to three days in advance. 

As I mentioned in the previous post, I have tried the vanilla cake with the cheesecake mousse filling (as a round cake vs. a sheet cake but I am pretty sure they are the same). And was disappointed despite liking the concept of all of the components . I only had one piece and often prefer things the second time (probably due to not having to reconcile my expectation with reality), so I am likely to like it better then I originally did if i tried it again. However, I was not even interested in trying a second piece at the time not am I interested in buying it again. The chocolate version is appealing but I would not buy it without an occasion given that I do not anticipate liking it enough to want the entire cake.

Have you tried these items? Do you agree that they are not worth buying?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment