Costco Surprises

I have written about how much my family loves Costco. My dad is generally known as the “expert” in the family. He teaches business and has actually takes classes to the store for them to learn about company practices. (I still remember how much he laughed when he first told me he was doing this and I thought he would also shop while there.) I am moving towards “expert” status because I read a lot about Costco (largely for this blog). Therefore, when I came across a recent article by someone reporting on what surprised her about Costco, I was curious to see what I could learn. The author visited Costco with the Schwartz couple, who recently wrote a book about their visits to over 200 Costco stores.

These are the 11 things the author of the article found very surprising:

1. “The Fence”

The article describes “The Fence,” which is a stack of shelves by the entrance to each warehouse store to promote certain products.

I have certainly noticed the products being promoted in the entrance of the store but had never heard of “The Fence.”

2. Cashiers are Quicker than Self-Checkouts

Although both checkout options are available in the stores, the article mentions that the checkout process tends to be faster with the cashiers, due to their speed. 

In contrast to the author of the article, I am not surprised that cashiers are faster than self checkout (May I help you? Checking out at Costco).

3. Costco employees rush to clean any dirt on the floor

The author learned that all Costco employees (regardless of official job) are expected to pick things up off the floor whenever they see them to keep the store as clean as possible. 

I was surprised to read this expectation and I love it. I wrote in another post about liking when even the “higher ups” are willing to help out, not viewing tasks as “below them” (Secrets of Costco Employees (Part 2 of 2). I was so surprised by this part of the article that I mentioned it to my dad. He told me that he had seen it in action. He said that when he took his class there with a senior manager, he was surprised when the manager saw something on the floor and stopped to pick it up. Initially he was not sure whether it has just been this particular manager who was willing to clean the aisle but then learned it was a store policy. 

4. Asterisks on signs indicate the item will not be reordered

The article mentions the “Death Star,” letting members know that the item will not be reordered and that they should buy it before it is gone.

I certainly knew about the significance of the asterisks (Price endings are not random) but I had not heard the term “Death Star” before. 

5. Employees don’t touch any items until they are scanned for purchase

The author learned that Costco cuts costs on extra packaging and handling by displaying items for sale in their original packing from manufacturers. Therefore, Costco employees don’t touch individual items until scanning at checkout. 

I didn’t know this company system either. However, I am surprised it seems important enough to be in this article.

6. Not all food is sold in bulk

The author mentions that she was surprised to learn that not all items are sold in bulk. 

I hadn’t really thought about it because I associate Costco with buying in bulk but I guess it’s true that not all packages are huge.

7. Boxes of cartons are left on the shop floor for shoppers to use

Another surprise for the author is that Costco employees move empty packages so that members can use them to store items rather than having to use reusable bags.  Apparently, co-founder and former CEO James Sinegal insisted that empty boxes be removed from the shelves.

Again, I am surprised that this “surprise” made the list. We benefit from being able to use the boxes to keep items contained for bringing into the house when we get home. However, bags are easier. I never thought about why we don’t take them into store but I realize now that no one does…I wonder if they are allowed.

8. The Rotisserie Chickens are Time-Stamped

The author learned that the chickens are timestamped as soon as they leave the oven. Chickens not sold within two hours of leaving the oven are then used in other items (e.g., soups; salads; tacos). 

I knew that Costco used the unsold chickens for other items but I did not know that there was such a specific time limit. I obviously don’t eat the Costco chicken but for those that do, I imagine it is reassuring to know it is fresh. 

9. Refunds for Avocados that Don’t Ripen Correctly

The article mentions that Costco will give refunds if the avocadoes do not ripen well. 

Initially I was surprised by this but then remembered that Costco refunds for any product with which members are not satisfied! (Returning at Costco). Therefore, I am not sure why avocados are specifically mentioned.

10. Random product placement

The author mentions that she asked about the random nature of the product placement. She writes that the Schwartz couple did not have the answer but that they find this randomness to be part of the fun of trips to Costco.

Here my surprise is that this couple did not know the reason for the random placement! Other posts have discussed the strategy of moving items around to encourage/force members to wander around looking for their favorite items, hopefully leading to unanticipated purchases (How Costco Gets Members to Spend More).

11. Showtime Ready” is a huge compliment

Apparently the biggest compliment to a Costco employee is that their section of the store looks “showtime ready”. This phrase indicates that the section is well organized, one of the things on which Costco prides itself. 

I did not know about this compliment. I like knowing what employees would like to hear from members. However, I can’t imagine myself going up to an employee and saying their section looked “Showtime Ready”.  

Are you surprised by any of these aspects of Costco? Any other things by which you were surprised when you visited Costco?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment