Product Review: Kirkland Greek Yogurt

Although I never disliked it, I did not eat yogurt too frequently when I was growing up. When I did eat it, I chose the sweetest varieties available, such as raspberry, vanilla, and white chocolate raspberry (essentially a dessert in a “healthy” costume). In college, there were limited edible options in the dining center and vanilla yogurt quickly became a staple of my diet and remained one ever since.

When Greek yogurt hit the popular market several years ago, I was reluctant to “cheat” on my beloved Stonyfield Farms yogurt, but, given the rave reviews of, and high protein content in, Greek yogurt, I gave Chobani a try. For years I ate vanilla Chobani. Then, I guess my taste buds changed and I discovered that one of my favorite meals, yogurt with granola and fruit tasted much too sweet and I started buying plain Greek yogurt. Again, always Chobani.

When my father mentioned seeing the new Kirkland plain Greek yogurt at Costco, I was reluctant to try it…with two 32-ounce containers, what if I hate it? That is a lot of yogurt to go through. Nevertheless, given my positive experience with Kirkland products, I gave it a try…and now I hungrily breeze through at least one of the containers each week.

image

If you like thick, creamy yogurt, with the consistency of sour cream (despite being fat free), you will love this product. The yogurt is smooth and dense, yet not heavy. It is hard to believe that it is fat free (in fact, it scares me to imagine how thick a version with fat would be!). Definitely not a product for individuals looking for a sugary yogurt, this item has a slightly tart taste, making it the perfect complement to granola, fruit, and any sweet quick bread. The high protein context and dense texture make this yogurt satisfying and filling, without leading to an overly stuffed feeling.

Here are some reviews, comparing this product to other brands of Greek yogurt.

http://www.chowhound.com/post/kirkland-greek-yogurt-800638

http://hubpages.com/food/greek-yogurt-brands

If you do eat this yogurt, some of my recommendations include: granola, hot blueberry sauce, bananas, peaches, quick breads or muffins, and baked potatoes.

At $5.99 for two 32-ounce containers, it is a great deal, when compared with Chobani, which sells one 38-ounce container for $5.49 at Stop and Shop and $6.09 at Market Basket and Fage, which sells for $7.14 and $7.09 at Stop and Shop and Market Basket, respectively, for a 35-ounce carton.

Have you tried this yogurt? What did you think? Any suggestions for recipes?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Product Review: Kirkland Greek Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Countering anti-Costco sentiments: Part 1 | Cruising Costco

  2. Cathy says:

    Our local Costco switched from Fage to Kirkland and I was able to try them side by side before running out of Fage. Having been to Greece, I can say there’s no comparison. The Fage tastes authentic. Kirkland tastes like a thick Safeway generic – completely devoid of flavor and tang, really awful. Might be OK in a sauce or bread, but no way am I buying the Kirkland to eat by itself.

    Like

    • Cruisingcostco says:

      Ha, I guess this is a time when it helps me not to have had a more authentic version! I am so satisfied with the Kirkland, just as I am with Chobani. I guess I better never taste Fage so that I can keep enjoying these products. Thanks for your comment. I’m curious if others who gave tried Fage or actual yogurt in Greece agree or if others find Kirkland to be an acceptable substitute?

      Like

  3. Pingback: Product Review: Dr. Praeger’s harvest veggie burgers | Cruising Costco

  4. Pingback: Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt | Cruising Costco

  5. Pingback: Alcohol at Costco (Part 2 of 2) | Cruising Costco

  6. Pingback: Cruising Costco turns 3! | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment