Costco Deals for April

Costco does not accept coupons (Non-Costco coupons). However, members receive a coupon book each month with the discounts for that month. However, there are also often other discounts and rebates that are not advertised (as well as other deals due to items being discontinued (Price endings are not random))

This post discusses some of the deals at Costco for April, as it seems that people are interested in the timely deals. 

1. Vitamix Venturist Pro Blender

The article recommends this blender for people who like to create a variety of meals, drinks, or snacks. The blender has 10 speeds, a pulse feature, and a digital timer. It is currently on sale for $320.00 after the $80 off. 

I remember the blender of my childhood. It was big and clunky with buttons for each speed. There were not many speeds and instead were labeled things like “pulse” and “puree” and the buttons often got stuck. It was fun to use but a nightmare to clean. My dad used to make frappes in them (yes,frappes not milkshakes because in Boston a frappe contains ice cream whereas milkshakes do not (Free Samples Gone “Too Far”???)). I then went through a “smoothie phase” in high school and would invite friends over to make smoothies of vanilla ice cream, frozen berries (and I think maybe a little ice). I still love frappes but don’t  bother with a blender. Instead, I just leave the ice cream out to soften and then add syrup or a nutrition drink and mix them together. I’m not going to buy this blender because I’m happy with my own system but I can see this being a very good item for people who do a lot of blending.

2. KitchenAid 6-Quart Bowl Lift Stand Mixer

This mixer is good for serious bakers, as it comes with a flat beater, a flex edge beater, a dough hook, a whisk, and a pouring shield. It has 11 speeds. Currently it costs $300.00 ($100 off).

Aside from the occasional batch of cookies or a cake (and my disaster of a healthy muffin phase), I have never been much of a baker. I have always preferred the more creative process of cooking to the precise requirements of baking. My mom is a great baker and my family, friends, and teammates always benefitted. However, we never had fancy equipment and she now sticks to simple items that don’t require much mixing with different speeds. However, for serious baking, this might be a good purchase. 

3. Kerrygold Pure Irish Butter

One of the options for butter at Costco is Kerrygold. It is sold in packages of four eight-ounce bars and comes in both salted and unsalted varieties. It is currently on sale for $11 ($3.60 off). 

I have written before about not actually liking butter (Costco in Iceland (International Series #3)) . Not eating much of it and not being a baker, I don’t use much. However, most “normal” people use far more and it freezes well. Therefore, for most people, this butter is a good deal.

4. Rao’s Homemade Marinara Sauce

The author acknowledges that homemade pasta sauce is ideal but that jarred sauce is more convenient. She recommends the Rao’s Homemade Marinara Sauce. Sold in packs of two 28 ounce jars, it is on sale for $9 ($3 off).

Okay, weird timing…As I was writing this post, I was listening to a podcast. The podcasters started discussing Rao’s sauces (I also learned I was pronouncing it incorrectly) and how they are an improvement over some older brands. I haven’t had this brand because it is not kosher and quite expensive even if it were kosher but i know has a good reputation. 

5. Hellmann’s/Best Foods Squeeze Mayo

Costco is currently selling two 28-ounce squeeze bottles of mayonnaise for $7 ($3 off). 

I have mentioned in a previous post that I don’t like mayonnaise (Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe). However, given how many foods I like from Costco that are largely based on mayonnaise (Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe); (Product Review: Bluehill Bay Smoked Whitefish Salad); (Product Review: Golden Taste Cole Slaw)), maybe I like it more than I think I do…Growing up, my mom always ate a lot of tuna and egg salad and insisted that, although we could buy store brand items for many items, the mayonnaise had to be Hellman’s. These squeeze bottles fall into my “weird container avoidances” (It’s snacktime! (Part 1 of 3)); (Even More High-Quality Kirkland Products)), but they may be worth getting because, although large, they are not a ridiculously huge size and mayonnaise lasts a long time.

6. Tyson Panko Breaded Chicken Breast Tenderloins

The author writes about liking crispy chicken tenders. This chicken is sold in five-pound bags, is all white meat, and can be deep fried or oven baked. It currently costs $13.00 ($5.50 off). 

This chicken is not kosher but I remember that I used to like breaded chicken. My mom used to make it coated in matzah meal for Passover and then making it the rest of the year because we actually preferred that coating over other coatings she had used in the past. For those who like coated chicken, this variety seems like a convenient option.

7. Frito-Lay Classic Mix Variety Pack

Costco sells a variety pack of individual bags of chips. They are sold in boxes of 54 bags, each box containing the following: Lay’s classic potato chips (8), seven bags of Cool Ranch Doritos (7), Nacho Cheese Doritos (12), Cheetos (12), four bags of Ruffles Cheddar & Sour Cream (4) four bags of Lay’s barbecue potato chips (4), and seven bags of Fritos (7).

Boxes cost $14 ($5 off). 

I don’t eat these chips anymore but I would have loved being able to get this box growing up. I enjoyed the little bags that could come in the lunchbox (and then brown bags once lunch boxes were “out”…this was before there was a large focus on the environment). My parents often bought larger bags and then put them in baggies bags because it was more cost effective. However, once in awhile we could get the small bags. I’m guessing that, had we had these Costco deals at the time, I could have had them more often. It is a pretty good selection for kids due to the variety. 

8. Outshine Fruit Bars

The article points out that, with warmer weather coming, it is a good time to buy popsicles. A current deal at Costco is Outshine Fruit Bars. The boxes contain 24 bars in a variety of flavors (strawberry, mango, grape, tangerine). They cost $8.50 ($3 off).

It is funny to think now that popsicles were a special treat at camp or school field day or friends’ houses because they seem so simple. However, they were a treat and I always wanted cherry. I stopped eating the original brand because I preferred fudgcicles and did not love the pure sugar taste. I preferred the ones with more real fruit in raspberry flavor or creamcicles. However, I tried coconut Outshine bars a few years ago and they were very good. I have not tried the other flavors. My problem with the variety packs is not liking every flavor. I’m the case of this box that Costco sells, I don’t like strawberry or grape. However, if I liked more flavors or if several people with different tastes were sharing the box, it would be a great purchase. I looked at the website and saw how many flavors I’d like. If I could create my own box, I would select raspberry, lime, pineapple, and coconut (but would also be happy with the inclusion of lemon, tangerine, and mango).

9. Oreos

The article references the many varieties of Oreos but says that none can compete with the original. Costco sells packages of 12 sleeves of cookies for $8 ($3.50 off).

Oreos are obviously classic. I actually don’t love Oreos and generally get the Trader Joe’s variety if I want them. I am also one of the few people who does not love cookies n’ cream ice cream. However, sometimes they are a good treat and good to have around for a snack to dip into milk. With respect to the variety of flavors, I used to listen to a podcast discussing snacks and fast food and it seemed like most episodes discussed a new Oreo. Because I don’t eat many Oreos, I didn’t try these flavors but some sounded worth trying (e.g., cinnamon bun) but and some sounded terrible (Swedish fish). I think it would be a good idea for Costco to sell a variety pack. I also have to ask…at what point, are these no longer Oreos? Or is an “Oreo” any cookie sandwich with cream?

10. Nature Valley Biscuits with Almond Butter

The author mentions that Nature Valley sells more than just granola bars, including Biscuits with Almond Butter. Costco sells packs with 30 pouches of cinnamon biscuits with an almond butter filling. They currently cost $11 ($4.80 off).

I have written in the past about liking the granola bars (Costco Deals in March 2024). This snack sounds pretty good, given that I like almond butter (Product Review: Kirkland almond butter.) However, although these packages are convenient, I’d be more inclined to eat a rice cake or apple with almond butter because the natural almond butter is less sweet than that typically used in packaged snacks.

11. Babybel Mini Cheese

Yet another snack that Costco sells is Babybel Mini Cheese. Packages contain both original and white cheddar varieties. 36-count packs cost $9.50 ($4.30 off).

I remember eating these cheeses as a kid and enjoying pulling off the red plastic seal. They are not kosher but would be a good item for travel, as they are convenient and contain protein vs. pure sugar. 

12. Bibigo Fully Cooked Mini Wontons

The article reports that many Costco members like these mini wontons. They contain cabbage, bean sprouts, cilantro, green onion, and soy sauce and can be pan-fried, boiled, or microwaved. They cost $7.50 ($2.50 off).

These are not kosher but have been mentioned before as a popular item (What Food Experts Purchase at Costco).

Have you or will you be buying any of these items in April? Any other April deals you have seen?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment