Costco in Iceland (International Series #3)

This present post (#3 in the “International Series”) will discuss Costco in Iceland (there is only one). When I read the list of countries that have Costco stores, I was probably most surprised to see that there was one in Iceland. The article discussed in this post focuses only on food items, whereas others address nonedible similarities and differences as well ((Costco in Canada (International Series #1)); (Costco in South Korea (International Series #2))).

Nine Surprising Products Sold at Costco in Iceland 

1. Different Sodas

The author of the article noted that the food court soda fountains contain an additional soda option to those typically offered in the United States. Members can order Egils Appelsin, an Icelandic orange-flavored soda, that is commonly served at festive occasions and holidays.

I no longer drink soda (don’t like carbonation) or eat at fast food restaurants (not kosher). Therefore, I don’t have much exposure to soda fountains. However, when I did order soda from the fountains, I was always excited when there were options I wasn’t used to seeing. I remember ordering Dr. Pepper multiple times when on vacations to the Southwest and drinking a lot of Cherry Coke when eating at a college Dining center while attending a camp.

Therefore, I can appreciate the benefits of  differences in something as standard as a soda fountain. That said, if this Icelandic soda is mainly for special holidays, it seems odd to have it in a fountain, as it could take away some of its “specialness.” 

2. Birthday Cakes with Icelandic Writing 

The birthday cakes in the bakery are written with “Happy birthday” written in Icelandic (“Til hamingju með ðaginn”). The cakes cost about $19 in United States currency.

I had not thought about the writing on cakes in other countries, but it certainly makes sense for it to be in the language of the country. If English is not the dominant language it would be even odder for the writing to be in English! (Now I’m thinking about a potential Candid Camera scene where people go to buy birthday cakes and the writing is in a foreign language. However, when the shopper inquires, the employee acts as though nothing is “off” about the situation.)

3. Different Hot Dog Brand

The article mentions that the Iceland Costco sells both house-brand Kirkland hot dogs and the Icelandic Vínarpylsur brand. Apparently, 

hot dogs are a popular street food in Iceland, usually ordered with everything on them (“Ein með öllu,”).

I don’t know what the differences are between the types of hot dogs sold. I am not surprised that both types would be sold. Certainly hot dogs sold in the street are not unique to Iceland. I remember going to New York as a child and seeing all the carts. 

4. Different Yogurt Brand

The author mentions that she saw Icelandic yogurt called skyr, which she describes as more cheese like than yogurt like. A quart costs about $4.

I have never seen the brand or variety at local Costco stores but I would not be surprised if it makes an appearance at some point to add to the already large yogurt selection at Costco (“Strong” and “weak” sections of Costco).

5. Dried Fish Fillets

The article mentions hardfiskur, or dried fish fillets (cod, haddock, or wolffish), which have long been an important component of Icelandic diets. 

I have never heard of this type of fish and am not interested. However, I imagine (actually, I know) that many people find the idea of lox and /or gefilte fish to be unappealing.

6. Different Brand of Butter

The author reports that she liked the Smjör, an Icelandic brand of butter. 500 grams (2.2 cups) costs about $5 at the Costco in Iceland. The author has since learned that it is sold at some Whole Foods locations in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic.

I actually don’t like butter very much. A little on toast or pasta, and definitely in baked goods is fine. However, I actually prefer my baked potatoes without butter (Product Review: Russet Potatoes). Years ago, when I still ate in restaurants, my family went to dinner at a seafood restaurant. My Grandma and I switched meals due to my dislike of too much butter. She raved about the dish I ordered, white fish swimming in melted butter, whereas I was much happier with her salmon with pineapple salsa. Given my lack of interest in butter, I don’t think I’d notice much difference among types. However, I can certainly relate to liking a product and then trying to find it near me.

7. British Products

The warehouse store sells multiple products from Britain, including Marmite. Although initially surprised by the presence of these items, the author later realized that it is not surprising, given that Iceland is only a three-hour flight from London.

The article about the visit to Costco in Canada also mentioned British items (Costco in Canada (International Series #1)). I always laugh a little when Marmite is mentioned. I have never had it. However, my first exposure to it was in a Mr. Bean (an old British show) in which Mr. Bean invites a few friends over for a New Year’s Eve “party”. He does not have enough things to dip into the Marmite, so he resorts to twigs.

8. Different Bakery Items

British products are sold not only on the shelves but also in the bakery. The article mentions Victoria sandwiches, which are fresh cream and strawberry jam between sponge cakes. 

I have never heard of this item but it sounds delicious!

9. Cane Icing Sugar With Queen Elizabeth’s Stamp of Approval

The article explains that brands can use the royal coat of arms in their product design if they have a Royal Warrant of Appointment. This warrant documents that the company supplies goods or services to the royal family. During her trip, the author noticed that the cane icing sugar still bore Queen Elizabeth’s stamp of approval. She explains that King Charles III now reviews and grants Royal Warrants and that companies will have to reapply to use the royal coat of arms in 2024.

How nice…i got a little history/cultural lession too. I did not know about being able to use this symbol based on whether or not the brand serves the royal family. It makes me wonder if there is anything similar in the United States. Although certainly different, the idea of seeing an older version of a product made me think about seeing former athletes on Wheaties boxes. As a side note, if people come across the “Queen version” of the sugar, they will know it is not the freshest sugar they could buy.

Are you surprised that there is a Costco in Iceland? Have you ever been? Have you seen any of these items in other countries (not necessarily in Costco)?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment