Costco in Canada (International Series #1)

I like to visit Costcos in other states to see different product offerings. Some of these differences make a lot of sense given the demographics of the members (e.g., a larger kosher selection in New York). Although I have visited Costco stores in a few other states, I have not been to an international Costco (and even I would not spend my limited time in a foreign country at Costco!) However, I am interested in differences among Costcos around the world (and appreciate that this blog gets readers from around the world…thank you readers!) A recent article commented on similarities and differences between United States Costcos and a Canadian Costco (one of over 100) she visited. This article gave me the idea to start an “international series” in which I discuss articles written by people who have visited a Costco in one of the 14 countries in which they are located.  

Note: these posts are based on articles I found about stores in each country. These articles were not written by the same person or with the same purposes. Therefore, they are far from consistent. However, I still think they provide helpful information about similarities and differences among Costco stores across the world.

Similarities

1. Appearance/Layout

In addition to the store being being very large, the author noticed that the inside layout was similar to Costco stores in the United States. The layout was open, with items in the middle and around the perimeter and with boxes stacked to the ceiling. She comments on feeling comforted by the familiar appearance. She also mentions that another person who has been to over 200 stores around the world has also commented on the comfort of the consistent layout, regardless of location.

I am not surprised that both the exterior and interior of the stores are the same. The different Costco stores that I have visited in the United States have looked the same from the outside (I’m actually kind of disappointed because I wanted the Florida Costco to have a “beachy” appearance!) and had the same layout. I have to admit that, although the consistent appearance makes shopping easier (despite the movement of products (How Costco Gets Members to Spend More)), I would like to see some differences in decorations depending on location (although I know Costco would not spend money on interior design).

2. Most Products

Although the author highlights differences in products, she does note that the majority of items are the same in both the United States and Canada.

I am not too surprised by this finding. Most items have been the same across the stores I have visited in the United States.  I would expect fewer product difference between American and Canadian stores than between American and stores on different continents.

Differences

1. French Labels

The author visited a Costco in Ontario, where French is not the first language of the majority of those living there. (In contrast, French is the first language of 20% of the population and is the primary language in Quebec). Nevertheless, she noticed french labels on products.

I would expect French labels in Quebec given that it is the primary language there. I remember visiting the province and loving being able to practice my French because of the signs and people speaking French. I would not have necessarily thought about or expected French in other parts of Canada. However, it is likely that the orders and deliveries are the same across much of the country.

2. More Jacket Options

Another difference the author noticed was that the store sold more types of jackets than in United States stores. She noted that this difference in product availability makes sense given that Canadian winters are some of the coldest in the world.

I had not thought about how weather would affect the different product offerings. However, it certainly makes sense that there would be more items for colder weather. Thinking about different product offerings depending on the location made me remember a discussion my family had in Florida several years ago. We talked about items we thought were probably sold more, including fans, beach chairs, air conditioners, and coolers). Now I am wondering more about different items aside from food that would vary across countries.

3. Sourcing of Products

Although most products were the same, the author noticed that the sourcing was different. Unsurprisingly, she saw that many of the Canadian products were sourced in Canada. Specifically, she commented on the local sourcing of frozen fish and chicken, meat (e.g., bison burgers; Wagyu beef (vs Chicago steaks and bone-in pork cutlets in the United States), and dessert items.

It certainly makes sense that many products would be local, both for items one can get most places (e.g., chicken) and for items unique to an area (e.g., bison burgers). 

4. Different Products 

Some products were different than the ones the author had seen in the United States. She mentions Tim Horton’s coffee, maple leaf cookies, orange mango quinoa cookies, and Hungarian beef sausage, Aero candy, and frozen yogurt bars. 

It is not surprising that some items would be ones that are eaten more in that country. I haven’t thought about whether or not the items in the Costcos I frequent are unique to the United States. However, that makes sense because I’d be more likely to notice things are surprising to see (e.g., if they sold Tim Horton’s coffee in MA when we do not have that restaurant here). It makes me wonder what items would surprise people from other countries when visiting Costcos in the United States.

5. Food Court Options

The author comments on the poutine (fries, gravy, and cheese curds) sold in the food court, an item not sold in the United States.

I have written before about different food court options in different states (Costco food courts around the country and the world) so it is not a surprise that Canada would have a different option. 

Have you been to a Costco in Canada? Are you surprised by any of these differences?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment