9 Best Costco Breakfast Foods for Weight Loss

I don’t want this blog to be too focused on nutrition or weight loss. I am not a nutritionist, do not need to lose weight or follow a diet and am certainly not qualified to give advice to others, and want to appreciate the wonderful variety of foods at Costco, whether very nutritious ((Product Review: Cantaloupe); (Product Review: Russet Potatoes); (Product Review: Cal-organic Baby Carrots); (Product Review: Foppen Hot Smoked Salmon); (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts); (Product Review: Blueberries); (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt); (Product Review: Kirkland frozen Atlantic salmon); (Product Review:Kirkland Signature Smoked Salmon); (Product Review:Kirkland organic creamy peanut butter); (Product Review: Kirkland almond butter); (Product Review: Kirkland Albacore tuna); (Product Review: Watermelons); (Product review: grape tomatoes)) or less so (Product Review: Kirkland Super Premium Vanilla Ice Cream);  (Product Review: Upper Crust Bakery Mini-Lemon Bites); (Product Review: World of Chantilly 7-layer cake); (Product Review: Haddar Chocolate Drizzled Coconut Macaroons); (Product Review: Bluehill Bay Smoked Whitefish Salad); (Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe); (Product Review: Golden Taste Cole Slaw); (Product Review: Golden Taste Red Skin Potato Salad). However, I came across this recent article with tips about healthy breakfasts and ways that Costco items can fulfill them. I have not yet written much about breakfast options so I wanted to mention these items and ideas. If they fit into your diet or just provide ideas, great. 

Nutrition Information for Healthy Breakfasts

1. Balanced macronutrients

According to the article, breakfasts that contain a combination of protein, high-fiber carbs, and healthy fats will result in satiety even hours after finishing breakfast.

I used to love very sweet breakfasts (e.g., muffins or cinnamon rolls, pancakes, waffles, or French toast (the more syrup the better), or sugary cereal). Yet, several years ago, I realized that, although delicious at the time, I did not feel good relatively soon after eating too these foods. The heavy, sleepy feeling was likely due to the spike and then drop in blood sugar. Now, although I definitely find the idea of a large sweet muffin or a large bowl of a sweet cereal appealing, I know that a better option would be a small muffin with a nutrition drink, cereal with milk or yogurt, or oatmeal with some nuts.

2. Protein

The nutritionist emphasizes the importance of protein to help with satiety, balanced blood sugar, and energy.

Again, I used to be all about the sweet carbs for breakfast. I did often have cereal with milk (so carb and protein), but that was often because it was what was always available versus thinking about the importance of including protein with my breakfast…and the cereal was likely to be sweet (e.g., cinnamon toast crunch; honey bunches of oats). However, if given the opportunity to have a muffin, cinnamon roll, or bagel, or even better, pancakes, waffles or French toast, all the better. 

3. Portion control

The article discusses the importance of keeping track of calories, even when eating healthy foods. The nutritionist acknowledges  that caloric needs differ by individual but suggests 350-500 calories for breakfast.

I don’t want to get focused on calories here, although that range sounds low. However, just thinking about my former complete lack of thought given to calories is amusing. I used to eat ridiculously huge bowls of cereal (essentially mixing bowls), enormous muffins (not from Costco but certainly the ones sold at Costco meet the criteria of “huge muffins”), and huge stacks of pancakes.

4. Low added sugar

Another tip mentioned by the article is to limit the amount of sugar in breakfasts. The nutritionist cautions that many common breakfast foods have more sugar that people may realize.

I learned about these hidden sugars many years ago. Growing up, I obviously knew that the frosted flakes and cinnamon toast crunch that I loved so much were extremely sugary. However, it was not until much later that I learned how much sugar was in flavored yogurt. After I started eating plain yogurt, I realized I could never return to vanilla yogurt because the latter tasted far too sweet.

5. Nutrient density

The nutritionist recommends adding foods to breakfast that have nutrients such as vitamins and minerals but are low in calories. She suggests adding fruit, vegetables, and nuts to typical breakfast foods.

Fruit sounds appealing at breakfast time; vegetables less so (except for in an omelette). I like to add fruit to cereal or yogurt or even pancakes or waffles on the rare occasion I have them for breakfast (these days they are more likely to be lunch or dinner). Nut butter ((Product Review:Kirkland organic creamy peanut butter); (Product Review: Kirkland almond butter)) certainly makes a healthy and filling breakfast. 

Healthy Breakfast Options at Costco 

1. Garden Lites Veggies Made Great Spinach Egg White Frittatas

The nutritionist recommends these low-calorie frittatas for the combination of vegetables and protein. She suggests adding fruit and milk for a complete and healthy breakfast.

I used to love the Garden Lites brand. Costco used to sell their frozen, individually portioned mixed vegetable souffles (the brand also made souffles in spinach and butternut squash). However, several years ago they changed both product line and kosher certification so I no longer eat the products. Therefore, I have not tried omand cannot comment on this item.

2. Fairlife Core Power Shakes

The article recommends these shakes for the convenience/ease of transport, high protein and calcium content and low calories and sugar. It suggests combining a shake with a granola bar or some oatmeal for breakfast. 

I tend to dislike most protein shakes (and, actually even packaged fruit smoothie drinks). I find that they often taste chalky and have an odd taste and even worse aftertaste. Therefore, I am not too inclined to try these. However, they do sound like a convenient and healthy option for part of breakfast.

3. Quaker Instant Oatmeal Variety Pack

The nutritionist recommends oatmeal for the high fiber and nutrients. To complete the breakfast, she suggests adding Greek yogurt and berries.

I love oatmeal and could eat it almost every day. I often find a lot of foods to be too sweet. Therefore, I prefer it plain. I have had plain packets in the past, and, although the convenience factor is nice, I found them gluey and a little too small. I prefer to buy containers and measure out servings. It is better cooked on the stove but tastes very good from the microwave as well. I was also under the impression that flavored oatmeal was sugary, which would be inconsistent with the breakfast tips in this article. I did look up the flavors in the variety pack mentioned and saw it included Maple & Brown Sugar, Cinnamon & Spice, Apples & Cinnamon, and Peaches & Cream. The first three sound okay if not too sweet; the fourth does not sound appealing at all. All of this is to say that I have not tried this item and am more inclined to have plain oatmeal. (Glad you read all of that???)

4. NuTrail Keto Nut Granola Blueberry Cinnamon

According to the article, granola is often loaded with sugar. In contrast, this variety Is filled with natural ingredients, including sunflower seeds, coconut, pecans, almonds, pumpkin seeds, blueberries, monk fruit sweetener, and cinnamon. Although relatively high in calories for a small serving, the granola provides protein and fiber without much sugar. The suggestion is to have it with fruit and milk.

I like granola a lot. I remember first eating it in college and becoming addicted for a short period of time. It was served in those large plastic self-serve containers, so I don’t know the brand but it tasted like broken up Nature Valley Honey n’ Oats granola bars. I did not know that granola was caloric (hey, granola is healthy, right) and I’m pretty sure it contributed to some of my freshman weight gain (well, that and the fresh chocolate chip cookies often available, the frozen yogurt machine, and the huge (Costco) packages of Swedish fish, animal crackers, and peanut M & Ms that I kept in my dorm room. I still like granola but cannot imagine opting for a Costco-purchased granola other than the Kirkland ancient grains variety (Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola). I think it makes a great meal when paired with milk or yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt) and maybe some fruit.

5. Feel Good USDA Organic Matcha Tea Powder

The nutritionist recommends adding this powder to smoothies to get caffeine and antioxidants. She suggests mixing the matcha with nut milk, bananas, spinach, a touch of vanilla extract, and ice cubes.

I have never had matcha and am not particularly interested in it. I also don’t make smoothies anymore, although I used to. If I were to make smoothies again, I’d be more inclined to use yogurt and frozen fruit rather than the ingredients the nutritionist recommends.

6. Red’s Egg’wich Turkey Sausage

The article suggests this item as a healthier alternative to traditional breakfast sandwiches. Apparently, the two cage-free egg patties sandwiched with turkey sausage and American cheese provides protein and contains no added sugar. An added health recommendation is to add spinach for extra fiber.

The sausage is a definite no for me! However, eggs, cheese and spinach sounds like a good breakfast option 

7. Chobani Non-Fat Greek Yogurt, Plain

According to the article, yogurt parfaits are healthy options for breakfast, especially when made with protein-rich, low-calorie, Greek yogurt. The suggestion for a complete breakfast is yogurt, berries, and nuts. 

This breakfast idea sounds delicious. I love Greek yogurt and it is great with fruit and nuts. I tend to buy the larger cartons of yogurt though (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt), as they are more cost effective and I find the individual cartons too small (I remember when an individual yogurt was actually 8 oz vs 5!). However, the single serve containers are definitely easier to transport and I guess one could put the fruit and nuts in containers to add later.

8. MUSH Ready to Eat Oats, Variety Pack

The nutritionist builds on the recommendation of eating oatmeal for breakfast by suggesting these ready-to-eat oats. The individual cups are 200-201 calories and contain protein and no added sugar. 

In college I used to mix yogurt with dry oats or dry cream of wheat. Others thought it was strange but I loved the consistency after the yogurt had absorbed some of the grains. Maybe I was ahead of the overnight oats trend? I have never actually had traditional overnight oats but they look and sound good. Although these are more convenient, I’d prefer to make my own. These flavors (blueberry , vanilla, and strawberry) aren’t too appealing to me. In addition, despite no added sugars, I imagine they are still too sweet for my taste.

9.  RXBAR Protein Bar, Variety Pack

The article cautions that, although generally thought of as healthy, protein bars may not actually be as healthy as assumed. In contrast,  for 210 calories per bar, RXBAR Protein Bars provide protein, fiber, and healthy ingredients, including egg whites, cashews, almonds, dates, and peanuts.

I mentioned above that I don’t tend to love protein drinks. Similarly, I have not often liked protein bars. However, these bars sound similar to Lara Bars, which I do like. However, although the flavors sold in the Costco variety pack (peanut butter chocolate and chocolate sea salt) sound good as a snack or dessert, I don’t find the idea of chocolate too appealing for breakfast.

What do you think about these breakfast suggestions to buy at Costco? Other items you’d suggest?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment