Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe

It may seem strange to start a review about tuna salad (a classic mayonnaise-drenched food), by expressing my dislike of mayonnaise…but I am going to anyway. Mayonnaise is a disgusting looking food product (I won’t even call it food). Growing up, I hated looking at it, smelling it, or touching it…let alone eating it. Despite my repulsion at the viscous condiment, I did eat the occasional potato salad, cole slaw, or egg salad…I guess I pretended that it was not mayonnaise holding the vegetables or eggs together. I also enjoyed tuna fish sandwiches but made my mom promise to use “as little mayonnaise as possible” to make the chunks of white albacore stick together. Plus, no matter how little she used, it was still “too much.” When I made tuna for myself, it was essentially dry flakes of tuna, with the occasional, barely discernible, white glob.  In college, I was even more scared of tuna, as it was a lumpy mess in a tub and looked like it had been sitting in the deli section all day…which it had.

Then, during my junior year of college, I ended up in a supermarket at lunchtime and decided to try a container of tuna salad…the first tuna I can remember having outside of my house. (I have never ordered it at a restaurant.) Despite my reluctance at eating the squishy, mayonnaise-filled tuna, I absolutely loved it.

In fact, I loved it so much that when Passover rolled around senior year, and I was in that store looking for food that I could store in my mini dorm fridge, I was excited to see that this tuna was kosher for Passover. I ate it every non-Seder night, and still could have kept eating it. I even made sure to have it again prior to graduation because I feared never having it again once I left the area (I had never seen this brand outside of the local supermarket chain near my college).

Post graduation, now much less afraid of mayonnaise, I tried to make my own by mashing it up very small,sometimes in a small food processor, humorously (to me) called “the chopster.” Although a decent substitute, it could not compare to my beloved college tuna.

Fast forward about ten years to Passover 2015. My parents went to Costco to buy Passover food, knowing that the Dedham store always has a good selection.  They saw that the same brand that makes the potato salad and cole slaw they like also made tuna salad-all kosher for Passover. Knowing that I don’t eat much meat, they figured it was worth a try.

It tasted very similar to what I remembered from college and I was thrilled to see that they continued to carry it even after the holiday (although only in Dedham, not Waltham). As good as the Kirkland white albacore tuna in cans is, (I will review it soon), this tuna was a real treat.

image

This tuna really doesn’t look or sound like anything special. There is nothing “unusual” in the ingredient list that would account for its delicious flavor. And, I admit that, not being familiar with restaurant tuna, I do not have much basis for comparison, but I do know that this tuna salad has emerged as one of my favorite meals.

The tuna is a light tan/cream color, with a well mashed appearance. The consistency is soft and mostly smooth, with the occasional larger chunk of tuna, making for a nice contrast every few bites. The taste is strong, definitelty tuna but not overly “fishy tasting,” and the mayonnaise is not gloppy or gelatinous, as it is fully mixed with the fish.

A fourth of the container is a good portion for me, along with a side dish with a relatively neutral or slightly sweet flavor, such as potato or zucchini pancakes, vegetable soufflé, rice, or a potato, and a salad. I tend to eat it for dinner, but it also makes a great sandwich, especially on an eggy challah roll.

Given that I get four meals out of the container and generally eat it a few times each week, one container lasts me two weeks. Although it stays fresh, towards the end of the second week, the edges tend to dry out a bit, forming a slight crust (because the plastic inside seal has been opened). The taste is not bad, but is not quite as (golden?…couldn’t resist…) tasty as upon first opening.

Although more expensive than making my own canned tuna salad, I find the extra cost (and special trips to Dedham…which are of course combined with filling up the gas tank) to be worth it, as I really look forward to my tuna meals.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe

  1. theuntunaman says:

    I like your blog–but what a waste of an article. I hate tuna. why don’t you write about the good food Costco sells—lox, chicken soup, corned beef, pineapples. In my opinion the tuna is taking up valuable space that could be allocated to food that tastes good like tapioca or lobster salad.

    Like

  2. Cruisingcostco says:

    Thanks for reading and great name untunaman! I’m sorry you can’t make use of my tuna review. Although now you know the best tuna that you will never eat! I actually have reviewed lox in a prior post. If you ever want to write a guest review of another product, we can arrange it.

    Like

  3. Cruisingcostco says:

    I’m so disappointed. The last few times Dedham has not had this in stock (this has happened before but then they brought it back) so I called to see if it was stocked before making a trip there (Waltham is closer) and they said that it is not in stock and not currently in order. The gentleman told me that it may come back but at the moment, it is not on order. Too bad! I eat this tuna a few times almost every week. I guess the whitefish salad or the canned tuna will have to do…do any of you still have it in your stores? If so, where? I’m wondering if it might still be in heavily “Jewish areas”.

    Like

  4. Andrea Wilson says:

    This is one of the best tasting Tuna that I ever eaten. If you want to spice it up a little more add
    Some liquid pepper sauce .I Just checked online for it.Because I can’t always get to Costco
    This is the perfect tuna for parties if you’re trying to impress people. Whomever makes this must be a very good cook
    Andrea Wilson

    Like

  5. Arressa Rosenzweig says:

    I absolutely HATE this. It’s super fishy tasting and it’s just tuna and mayo there is no celery or any contrast in it texture and taste. I really wish Costco would bring back the other brand (sally Sherman)

    Like

    • cruisingcostco says:

      Too bad you aren’t a satisfied customer. I guess that means that Andrea (she commented above) and I (who both love it) don’t have to worry that you will fight us for it!

      Like

    • Costcolover says:

      Disgusting dark tuna tastes like cat food with too much mayonaise… a sloppy fishy mess without celery or onion! Bleh.

      Like

    • john J tingle says:

      Sally Sherman. is this the 2.2 lb plastic container that says hellmanns tuna fish salad a costco?

      Like

  6. margery karger says:

    I absolutely love this tuna fish and have been eating it since we became members of Costco six months ago. When Costco in Waltham did not reorder it, I went to Dedham to buy it. So far, so good! I bought three! I will complain bitterly if Dedham discontinues it down the road.

    Like

    • cruisingcostco says:

      Margery, oh no! After reading your comment, I immediately called my mom who had recently been to Waltham and she confirmed that they did not have the tuna. So, I may too rely on Dedham (they originally were the only place that had it before Waltham got smart 🙂 and started carrying it). I sure hope they don’t stop either–and maybe Waltham ill start ordering it again. If not, we know we at least have two people for a petition to bring it back, right?

      Like

  7. CruisingCostco says:

    Waltham had the tuna today…good until mid-March. Stock up!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Product Review: World of Chantilly Passover 7-layer cake | Cruising Costco

  9. Pingback: (Slightly) different veggie burgers now offered | Cruising Costco

  10. Pingback: What do you think of the Passover selection? | Cruising Costco

  11. Steven Glueck says:

    I am with you about Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe – kosher for Passover product. I took one matza board broke it in half put tuna salad on it with a couple of strips of cheese and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds. It makes such a delicious Tuna melt. I just checked the ingredients and unfortunately it doesn’t break down the “spices” so I can’t duplicate the taste.

    Like

  12. So, I fear there may be bad news for those of us who enjoy this tuna. A few weeks ago (actually the day after I finished my last container of it), we called Costco to see if it was in stock because it had not been there a few days before. The store said that not only was it not there now but was no longer going to be carried! I then wrote to the Golden Taste company to see if maybe there was just a stop in production due to early factory cleaning for Passover. The company said that it had no idea about Costco and may depend on location but that it was not related to Passover. Ironically I had just written in my WishList 2 post that I really did not want it discontinued!

    If anyone sees it, could you please post where? We called Dedham, MA (the only MA store that carried it)

    Like

Leave a comment