Product Review: Kirkland Cashew Clusters

A few years ago my brother spotted this snack at Costco and thought it sounded like something that would appeal to me…he was right. (Although, not to discredit him or anything, but how could a snack comprised mostly of cashews and almonds NOT appeal to most people?)

image

These cubes contain cashews, almonds, pumpkin seeds, and a sugary “glue” to hold the nuts together. The package “boasts” that these snacks contain 50% cashews, a big selling point for a cashew-lover like me. I like almonds too, but definitely find cashews to be more of a treat. I have had other nut-based sweet snacks that seem to contain more sugary filler than pure nuts…certainly not the case with this variety. The majority of the squares contain whole nuts and seeds, in addition to smaller pieces of each. This composition creates a taste that is nutty, rather than plain sugary.

These treats are a perfect snack. They are sweet but not cloying and, although not a “health food,” are certainly a healthier alternative to candy. They are akin to honey roasted nuts but I prefer these, due to the slightly less sweet taste and the ability to have both almonds and cashews together without the cheaper peanuts taking over the mixture.

This snack is a good treat at any time of day, whether for a quick protein boost in the morning or afternoon, or a sweet treat in the evening. They definitely taste freshest upon just being opened, but, due to the sliding seal, they remain crunchy for months. I put them in an extra ziplock bag as well for extra freshness. Most of the pack is squares, but the very bottom of the bags contain crumbs. Although I have not tried it, I imagine that these crumbs would make a good topping for yogurt or ice cream (like a healthier version of a Heath topping.)

A few warnings:
1. I refer to this product as “crunch” and my name for it is not a misnomer…these treats will definitely give your jaw a workout! 2. Although convenient to take as a snack, as they are small, transportable, and filling, they make quite a mess if you are a pick-as-you-eat person. To avoid a shirt-ful of sweet, sticky crumbs, eat them in whole or half-piece bites.
3. Because they are small and easy to eat, one of the five-piece servings may seem small. However, after too many (I’ve had many more than five at a time!), you may be left with an overly sweet aftertaste and potentially a stomach ache, due to the high nut content.

I highly recommend these crunch squares. In fact, I like them so much that, when I see people looking at them, I can’t resist commenting on how good they are. Yes, I am *that* person.

About a year ago I saw these in a new variety…perhaps a limited holiday version?…dipped in chocolate. As I am not a huge fan of chocolate and nuts together or of overly sweet chocolate snacks, I passed these. I have not seen them since, so I wonder if they were just a test item that was not successful.

Have you tried these treats? Opinions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Product Review: Kirkland Cashew Clusters

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Hoody’s Essentials Orchard Trail Mix | Cruising Costco

  2. Pingback: Alcohol at Costco (Part 2 of 2) | Cruising Costco

  3. Pingback: It’s snacktime! (Part 1 of 3) | Cruising Costco

  4. Pingback: Product Review x2: KIND bars (Dark Chocolate, Nuts, & Sea Salt and Salted caramel and dark chocolate almond) | Cruising Costco

  5. Carol says:

    Where are they located in Costco?

    Like

    • CruisingCostco says:

      I actually haven’t looked for them in a long time but, assuming your store carries them, they would be with the snacks (nuts, candy) in the front of the store!

      Like

Leave a comment