Product Review: World of Chantilly Passover 7-layer cake

I was going to follow up on last week’s post about Costco being less attractive to millennials than other shopping options (Is Costco old news?). However, because it is prime Passover shopping time, I thought it made more sense to have a little interlude and discuss Passover items.

Costco tends to “cater” my family’s Seders and much of the food for the week and I have reviewed several of the Passover items (Product Review: Classic Cooking potato kugel; Product Review: Classic Cooking: apple matzah kugelProduct Review: Classic Cooking broccoli soufflé) as well as some items that are not specifically Passover items but are marked kosher for Passover this time of year (make sure that yours are marked before using them for Passover; Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe Product Review: Bluehill Bay Smoked Whitefish Salad; Product Review: kosher American cheese).This year Costco is selling a different brand of the kugels (Meal Mart) so I will have to review them after the holiday (won’t do the 2 people who actually read my reviews (Hi mom and dad!) any good for this year but maybe for the future…).

Because I am a dessert lover, finding a decent Passover dessert is essential. Almost exactly two years ago (Passover 2016), I reviewed Schick’s Passover 7-layer cake (Product Review: Schick’s Passover 7-layer cake.) I then updated that post last Passover because Costco carried a different brand of cake World of Chantilly). I was thrilled (well, as “thrilled” as anyone can be with any food having to do with Passover…) that they are back this year.

World of Chantilly is a New York bakery and catering company. The traditional 7-layer cake with chocolate mousse filling is very good (even for a non-Passover nondairy dessert). The cake itself was much softer/less dry and the chocolate mousse filling was plentiful and delicious. Had I not known, I really wouldn’t have suspected it was Passover cake and I would gladly eat this any time of year. The chocolate icing on top is also delicious-sweet but not overly so and thick enough to contribute a unique taste and texture to the cake. The cake is good both at room temperature and refrigerated. At room temperature, the cake is a little softer, but the mousse tastes a little better cold.

I’m very pleased that they are back this year and recommend that you pick one up for your Seder(s) or for a Passover treat. We bought 5 because I will eat them even after the holiday ends.

This year Costco is also selling a chocolate cake variety. Curious to know how that compares but given that I already have 5, I’m not sure that more cakes are in the plan.

These cakes are almost twice the size but less expensive than most Passover cakes in the supermarket (the way they raise prices for Passover is terrible…tuna with a “kosher for Passover” symbol? $6/can…well, I exaggerate but sadly, not too much…)

Did you try these cakes last year? Will you try them this year?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Product Review: World of Chantilly Passover 7-layer cake

  1. Max says:

    I don’t always, but this time I absolutely agree with you and you Mom and Dad. I tried these cakes last year and was pleasantly surprised. I’m more used to passover cake bakeries with names like Jacob’s or Goodman’s or Shaina’s so I thought Chantilly’s was odd. Chantilly’s sounds as if it should be a French patisserie, not a kosher bakery. It was–to used a passover term–yummy. My only argument with your excellent post is that you undersold the Costco deal. These cakes are high quality, yet twice a big and cost less than most others. In other words, less than cakes that are one-half the size. Moses would have loved them.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Product Review x3: Meal Mart Passover kugels | Cruising Costco

  3. Pingback: What do you think of the Passover selection? | Cruising Costco

  4. Cynthia Leven says:

    Hi ,while I was browsing through Costo in Chanukah 2021 I spotted a 7 layer cake ,baked by Chantilly and picked up two to see if it was as good as Schicks 7 layer cake,that I tried in 2018 that I was so in love with, the chocolate fudge just melted in my mouth it was so fabulous, I felt so bad that I only bought one 7 Layer. I took a sample of it the first time and was not willing to share it on Passover in 2018, being that I lived I’m Michigan. I went back to Costos the floweringing week and the cakes were sold out. That ment that there was no reorders until the following year. I even tried getting it through Amazon ,that would have cost me $25.00 .And that never came to be. With the $7.95 at COSTCO, it was Magnificent and Fudggey delicious. I did not share the cake with my friends or family.
    I hid it for days, taking small slices all for myself.
    As far as the Chantilly is concerned, it leaves a after taste,so I may be talking it back to get my money. The batter was not smooth, like birthday cake.
    Top 7 layer is Schicks in Brooklyn, New York. The Best tasting out of 2.
    All the Best to you.

    Like

  5. BARBARA WOLF says:

    Very disappointed with the 7-layer Passover cake. While the taste was ok, cutting it was nearly impossible without the whole thing crumbling. I tried both a serrated knife and straight blade chef’s knife. The top chocolate layer immediately fell off, and the cake just crumbled. It was being served at a 19-person seder. We put the pieces on a platter & sprinkled powdered sugar on top. NOT next year!

    Like

Leave a comment