Product Review: kosher American cheese

I mentioned in my review of the Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe Insert link, that I discovered it during Passover and enjoyed it so much that it has become a mainstay in my diet. The same is true for the kosher white American cheese produced by the “natural and kosher cheese company” (yes, that is the name http://naturalandkoshercheese.com)

image.jpg

My friends and family make fun of me for my terrible taste in cheese. I confess, I would choose the individually-wrapped-in-cellophane American “cheese” slices over fancier cheese plates comprised of Brie, Camembert, and Gruyere. (I know, I know…given this preference, why would anyone give any credit to my reviews?) However, in my defense, is there really a better cheese for sandwiches than American?

This cheese is sliced very thinly (about half the thickness of a traditional prepackaged slice of American cheese). It is American cheese with the “classic”, familiar taste, but has a sharper hint than most varieties, almost as though a few different types of cheese were mixed together. It is also less “slimy” than the traditional wrapped slices. Unlike some cheaper (read: plastic-like) cheese, this variety melts very well in the toaster oven or the microwave. It does not become gummy and is a great topping when melted over many foods.

Some of my favorite bases for the melted cheese are toast, corn muffins, scrambled eggs, and baked potatoes (a few years ago, I read a list of people’s favorite “pathetic” meals and a potato with melted American cheese was on it…however, I stand by this combination).

Kosher cheese is often extremely expensive but this cheese is a great deal at about $14 for 108 slices. AlthoughI don’t imagine that there is a huge demand for kosher cheese, because it is kosher, vegetarians can eat it, knowing that it does not contain animal rennet. The pack remains fresh for months once opened. (A good thing given how much there is…it can feel like an unending supply!) I place the block of slices in a ziplock bag and try to change the wrapping every few weeks, because, over time, some condensation appears inside the bag.)

Because these packs are so large, I would be interested in other ideas…suggestions for this cheese?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: kosher American cheese

  1. Pingback: Product Review: World of Chantilly Passover 7-layer cake | Cruising Costco

  2. Pingback: “Strong” and “weak” sections of Costco | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment