Product Review: Foppen Hot Smoked Salmon

I love salmon. I have reviewed several salmon options at Costco already ((Product Review: ACME Maple Smoked Salmon), (Product Review: ACME Smoked Salmon), (Product Review: Kirkland frozen Atlantic salmon), (Product Review: Royal Fjord salmon), (Product Review:Kirkland Signature Smoked Salmon). As I have shared, one of the disappointing things about Costco is that it frequently discontinues items (It’s Gone? Discontinued Products). Unfortunately, they have discontinued many of the salmon products they have carried over the years. Fortunately, they tend to replace them with similar–and generally very good–substitutes. 

The newest substitute is a package of three pieces of cold smoked salmon fillets by Foppen, a Norwegian company (and ironically, the product is called “hot smoked salmon” despite being designed to be eaten cold…go figure…) There are three flavors within the pack, each roughly get size 4-5 ounces (the packs range in size from roughly .75-1 pound). The three varieties are plain, maple, and pepper. Each piece is a solid block of fish. It is sold for $15.99/ lb, so each pack is about $15, making each piece about $5. It strikes me as a little expensive and a treat. However as prices of salmon (and everything!) Continue to rise and stay high, it is actually not outrageous. 

Honestly, while they taste slightly different, I cannot tell which is plain vs maple. Therefore, clearly it is not an overwhelming maple flavor! If I did not know they were different flavors, I probably wouldn’t even notice. The pepper tastes very different as it is much spicier and ( surprise surprise,) peppery. All pieces are quite salty which is typical for any smoked fish. (So have some water!) I did not initially like the pepper piece as I found it too strong but now I do like it. However, I admit to being kind of a wimp and scraping some of the pepper off. Each piece has a lot of flavor and is great alone. But it would also be good with something a little sweet such as a fruity salsa. Unfortunately, this delicious peach mango salsa (Product Review: Santa Barbara mango peach salsa) is no longer neither kosher nor sold at Costco.

These prices make a great main dish with a blander side of potato, couscous or rice. I often add tomatoes or pepper but a salad or cole slaw (Product Review: Golden Taste Cole Slaw) or potato salad (Product Review: Golden Taste Red Skin Potato Salad) would be great too. I eat it for dinner but it would probably be a good brunch dish as well. It is definitely different from lox as it is thicker and a real piece of fish vs slices that are more of a topping (although I do like lox enough that I will eat a very large portion as the main meal with a potato or eggs or both. )

The other salmon varieties have all been great as well so I am not overly concerned if this gets replaced at some point but for now I hope it sticks around. However, as good as it is, especially as a summer dinner, I don’t get it all the time. Although I love fish and probably *could* eat it every night, there are so many other good things to eat! because I don’t want fish every night  And on some fish nights I want my tuna (Product Review: Golden Taste Tuna Deluxe). Fortunately, it stays very well for a week or two when wrapped. 

Have your tried this salmon trio? Favorite of the three? Can you differentiate between plain and maple? Favorite side dishes with them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Product Review: Foppen Hot Smoked Salmon

  1. Carolyn Schreiber says:

    Hello, just picked up 4 pkg of the Foppen salmon at my Costco in Ft Myers, Fl. I’m concerned that they are discontinuing the Foppen, there were only few packages, but plenty of Kirkland salmon. I paid $12.99 for a 12 oz package, it has 18 pieces + $.72each piece. I don’t consider this too expensive. Just curious because the way I was reading your article, it looked like you were saying the pieces cost $5.00 each.
    Anyway, hope you have some insight into whether they are discontinuing Foppen.

    Like

    • I have a guess about this discrepancy. Foppen makes several salmon products. I bet you bought sliced smoked salmon rather than cold salmon filets. Yes, 5 dollars for a slice would be ridiculous! I don’t have any affiliation with Costco so I don’t know…but I really enjoy the kirkland lox.

      Like

Leave a comment