Costco Deals in March 2024

I’d like to do more product reviews. They are often the posts that get the most traffic and I like trying new Costco items, whether food (Product Review: Foppen Hot Smoked Salmon); (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts)) or non edible items (e.g., Quick Product Review: Carole Hochman Ladies’ Plush Robe). However, lately there have not been too many new things for me to try. So, until I identify more items to review, I try to keep up to date with the new items in the store. So, just as I did for February (New Items for February 2024), here are some new deals for foods in March. I initially thought the article was presenting new items for March. However, many items are not new items but are on sale in March. I will put the value off next to each one. 

1. Nature Valley Oats ‘N Honey Crunchy Granola Bars ($5 off)

These granola bars are sold in boxes with 49 individual packages, each package containing two bars. 

I have not eaten these granola bars in decades but I have a lot of associations with them. They were a snack that my family brought along on vacations. My parents planned amazing vacations. They were very focused on activities. Lunches were not a big focus (breakfast was generally included in the hotel and dinner was often our time to relax after a busy day). Therefore, we often relied on the snacks that fit in my mom’s fanny pack (remember those? Embarrassing but they did the trick…thank you mom for wearing it and giving out the snacks). Then, being a creature of habit, I think I ate one of these (or maybe the peanut butter variety) in my lunch almost every day of my senior year of high school. Or, if not at lunch, probably before sports practice or before or after a game or track meet. Although I liked other granola bars, these were more substantial and seemed healthier (I guess back then, in my mind, lack of chocolate=healthy??). Then when I got to college and had granola for the first time (yes, back then, granola was not ubiquitous), the big chunks served in the clear plastic container tasted exactly like broken up Nature Valley granola bars. I loved it. I ate huge bowls of this granola every day (and it definitely contributed to my freshman 15…or 20…) I also remember eating these granola bars in the middle of the night during finals period. 

2. TruBar Plant-Based Protein ($6 off)

The article reports that these protein bars are gluten-, dairy-, and soy-free, as well as non-GMO. Costco sells packages with 16 bars, 8 of each of the following flavors: Oh Oh Cookie Dough and Daydreaming about Donuts.

I have written before about not liking protein bars too much.LINK I associate them with the sticky and chalky tasting Power Bars that I ate before track meets. The flavors of these bars sound good but I’d rather pack up nuts (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts) if I want a protein-based snack for convenient travel. 

3. Dunkin’ Donuts Medium Roast Original Blend Coffee ($6 off)

Costco sells Dunkin’s Original Blend Medium Roast Ground Coffee. The container is 45 ounces (up to 150 cups of coffee). 

I don’t drink coffee but I know family members have bought this coffee multiple times and enjoyed it very much. 

4. Chobani Nonfat Greek Yogurt ($5 off)

The author mentions the 20-count box of four Chobani flavors (peach, strawberry, blueberry, and black cherry). With the discount, each yogurt cup costs 55¢. 

Obviously I like yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt). I used to like the small (and I do mean small!…5.3 ounces is really small) flavored Chobani yogurts a lot. However, since I started eating plain Greek yogurt, my taste for sweetened yogurt decreased and I now find it unappealing. Even when I did eat flavored yogurt, I stuck to raspberry, lemon, and lime. The flavors included in this pack do not sound good to me.  However, for people who like the flavors, this pack is a great deal. These yogurts tend to cost 1.59-2.00 for a single cup in grocery stores so 55¢ is a great price.

5. Mush Overnight Oats ($3 off)

Costco sells a variety pack of overnight oats. There are eight cups, two strawberry, three vanilla bean, and three blueberry. This item is  dairy- and gluten-free.

I have written before about very much enjoying oatmeal and about my version of “overnight oats” in college (9 Best Costco Breakfast Foods for Weight Loss). However, just as I prefer plain yogurt, I prefer plain oatmeal and therefore would not want premade sweetened overnight oats.

6. Heavenly Hunks Organic Oatmeal Dark Chocolate ($3 off)

The article mentions these organic, gluten-free, and vegan cookies. The bags are 22 ounces and contain 22 cookies. 

I tried to see if these are kosher but am having difficulty finding out. They do not appear to have certification. I am always looking for good non-dairy desserts and these sound good. I always found it frustrating that oatmeal cookies seemed to inevitably include raisins (with the exception of the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies that my mom and Grandma made).

7. Kellogg’s Cracker Collection ($4 off)

This cracker variety pack contains four flavors:  Toasteds Buttercrisp, Club Original, Town House Original, and Toasteds Harvest Wheat.

I rarely eat crackers and when I do, it is Triskets, so I won’t be buying these. However, I would not surprised if family members purchase them.

8. Boursin Gournay Cheese($3 off)

The article suggests this cheese as a topping for the Kellogg’s crackers. Each cheese pack contains two packages of Garlic & Fine Herbs cheese and one package of Shallot & Chive.

I have not had this cheese in a long time. However, it used to be a treat for me. I guess as a kid, eating crackers (I ate crackers more back then) with cheese seemed like an “adult” treat and I liked sharing the combination with my mom. 

9. Milton’s Craft Bakers Thin & Crispy Roasted Vegetable Cauliflower Crust Pizza ($3.40 off)

The author writes about the gluten-free pizza sold in a two-pack. The pizzas have a thin cauliflower crust and are topped with roasted zucchini, red, yellow, and green bell peppers, onions, and a three-cheese blend.

Ah cauliflower. .the base of everything now. I have not tried tried any of these foods and really only eat cauliflower in those mixed frozen blends. However, if it were kosher, I think cauliflower crust could be good. 

10. Sanders Sea Salt Caramel ($3.30 off)

Costco sells a two-pack of 36-ounce containers of these caramels. The candies are comprised of kettle-cooked caramel covered in milk or dark chocolate and sprinkled with sea salt.

These sound very good. Although I don’t like candy too much because of how sweet it is, I do occasionally like a few pieces. Caramel is obviously very sweet (I used to love Caramelos but doubt I could eat a whole one now) but I think I’d like it with dark chocolate and sea salt to balance out the pure sweet. 

11. Kirkland Signature Panko Breaded Shrimp ($4 off)

One of Costco’s brand items is its Kirkland Signature’s Panko Breaded Shrimp. The shrimp are sold in boxes of 39 pieces that can be cooked in ovens or air fryers. 

No shrimp for me! However, although I have not had it, I know panko coatings get high reviews and I imagine this is high quality shrimp.

12. Ling Ling Chicken & Vegetable Potstickers ($4 off)

The article suggests these chicken and vegetable potstickers that are sold in bags of a little over four pounds. They can be cooked in a variety of ways, including pan frying, boiling, microwaving, and steaming.

I would eat these if they were kosher and vegetarian. Before eating kosher, I always liked the soft dough of wontons. 

13. Thin Mint Bites ($3.60 off)

Costco carries a bite-sized version of Thin Mints. The bags are 20 ounces and contain candies consisting of a crispy center, a layer of mint, and a dark chocolate coating.

These sound delicious. I love the combination of mint and chocolate and always liked Thin Mints (especially cold) when we used to buy Girl scout cookies (New Snacks for 2024). These sound good because I also liked smaller pieces of mint and chocolate. My grandma often had mint lentils which were a chocolate mint center inside a candy shell. I also liked mint M and Ms. Although I think I’d prefer a solid candy center as opposed to a crispy one. Nevertheless, these sound worth a try. Given how disappointed I was when Edy’s stopped making their Thin Mint ice cream, I think these bites could make a good mix-in for ice cream.

Do you plan on taking advantage of any of these sales in March?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Costco Deals in March 2024

  1. cary m says:

    what a waste of time. why have somebody review stuff that hasn’t even eaten the food, Seems absurd

    Like

    • Fair comment. I like to comment because it is my blog and I like writing and reflecting. Of course you don’t need to read anything unhelpful!

      Like

      • Cary M says:

        My apologies I assumed because of the use of the logo and everything that you were sponsored or some thing by them so I thought it was somewhat weak and I resented the Clickbait.I didn’t realize that you were just a regular person that really likes Cosco. i’m very glad that you find the experience of shopping with them pleasurable to this degree, it would be awesome to be that thrilled by a shopping experience.

        Like

Leave a comment