New Items for February 2024

Costco is constantly introducing new products. While it means that others will no longer be sold (It’s Gone? Discontinued Products) due to the limited number of items carried at any time ((Countering anti-Costco sentiments: Part 1); (Freedom of or from choice?)), sometimes the new items are a great addition. I came across an article drawing attention to new items being sold starting in February.

11 New Items for February 2024

**Note: not all products are available at all Costco warehouse stores**

1. Columbus Meats

Different meat products are now available in different locations. These products include the 

Charcuterie Tasting Board (Southeast Costco locations), Herb Turkey Breast (California, Northeast, Northwest, Texas, and Southeast Costco stores), Reduced Sodium Salame pack  (California, Northeast, Midwest, Northwest, Southeast, and Texas locations), and Hickory Turkey Bacon (California, Midwest, Northeast, Southeast, and Texas Costcos).

I will definitely not be looking for these items!

2. Sweet Loren’s 

This item is gluten-free, vegan cookie dough. Northwest Costco stores will be selling a variety 3-pack. Each pack has three flavors, 12 of each flavor. The flavors are Chocolate Chunk, Sugar Cookie, and Fudgy Brownie. 

I have recently started eating this product and am disappointed that they will not be sold in MA (at least not yet…Northwest members, eat a lot of these so that they spread!) I have tried all three varieties and all are good. They are perfectly safe to eat raw but can be cooked as well. I have tried both ways. I love cookie dough (and definitely took the risk of eating it even with raw eggs) and they are very good. More recently, I started putting a few chunks in the microwave for a very short time (35-40 seconds). Although the cooking is a little unpredictable, they make for a delicious, quick, tasty snack at night without having to turn on the oven. They are good undercooked while still gooey and also when cooked more with a crispier texture. These cookies dough chunks are quite expensive and I got them on sale at the grocery store. I am actually surprised that they are this much at Costco ($17). However, if sold here, I’m sure I will buy them.

3. Zack’s Mighty Chips

Marketed as a stronger chip that can stay intact even in dip, these chips are made from actual tortillas. They are also the first tortilla chips to be made with certified regenerative corn. Costco has an exclusive flavor, Jalapeño Lime, that will be sold in Southwest stores.

I’m not a big chip eater, preferring to eat dips on vegetables or veggies burgers. However, these chips sound like a departure from the normal tortilla chips and will likely be appealing to many. I like when Costco sells an exclusive product. Several years ago they carried a veggie burger that was not sold elsewhere (Product Review: Dr. Praeger’s harvest veggie burgers). It was then replaced by a slightly larger version of the variety sold in grocery stores ((Slightly) different veggie burgers now offered)).

4. Spiceology Spice Blends

Three varieties of this brand will be sold in Costco stores in different locations. Smoky Honey Habanero will be sold in Southeast, Midwest, and Pacific Northwest stores, Korean BBQ will be sold in the Pacific Northwest, and  Greek Freak will be sold in the Midwest. 

I don’t use many spices and had actually not heard of this brand. However, it appears that it is a well-known brand and good quality.

5. Bellwether Farms Crème Fraîche and Whole Milk Yogurt

The crème fraîche will be sold in California, Hawaii, Utah and Arizona. The yogurt will be sold in the Pacific Northwest.

I had never heard of this brand. A little online research shows that the company uses sheep’s milk. I could not find information regarding it’s kosher status. Although I am very pleased with the current yogurt I get at Costco (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt), I very much enjoyed the whole milk Chobani that they have sold at times (Product Review: Chobani Whole Milk Plain Greek Yogurt).

6. Little Brainiacs

These pouches are fruit and veggie purees. They are non-GMO, kosher, gluten-free, soy-free and dairy-free.  They will be sold in 12-packs (6 Apple Carrot Banana; 6 Apple Spinach Pear) in CA, Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and Kansas.

Wow, these kid pouches have certainly become very popular. 

7. Rao’s Homemade Limited Reserve Calabrian Chili

Only available until February 11, this chili is being sold across the country. It is made from Italian tomatoes and spicy chilis.

I have never had Rao’s sauce but I know it gets very high reviews. I imagine that this item will be popular for the brief period it is being sold 

8. Cherry Cheesecake

These cheesecakes are made in the bakery section. They are the standard cheesecake with a cherry topping. They weigh almost six pounds. 

I have mentioned before that, although I love cheesecake and the Costco cheesecake gets very good reviews ((To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 1 of 2): Advice from a Professional); (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee); (“Would you bring a dessert?”)),To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee I have never tried it. Even if I were to try it, I would definitely not buy this one, as I don’t like cherry topping or filling (but like fresh cherries and the fake cherry in candy…go figure). I also prefer plain cheesecake to ones with any topping (r.g., strawberry). However, given the popularity of Cherry pie and fruit flavored cheesecake, it seems likely that this cheesecake will be a big hit with many.

9. Blueberry Bagels

These bagels have replaced cinnamon raisin bagels at several stores across the country. 

No, no, no! I have written before about being a bagel snob and not buying them at Costco (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee)). However, even if I did buy them at Costco, it would definitely not be the blueberry variety. Blueberries are great fresh (Product Review: Blueberries), in muffins, pies, blintzes, and mixed fresh or frozen and heated into yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt). However, they are not a bagel flavor. I remember being in high school when I learned that blueberry and chocolate chip bagels were being made. In my opinion, plain, poppy, and sesame are good bagel flavors and are great paired with cream cheese. Cinnamon raisin are also good. Other than that, I thing the bagel industry is stretching it. Bagel rant over…for now. 

10. Magic Spoon Cereal

The Fruity flavor of this low sugar, high protein cereal will be sold across the country. 

I have never tried this cereal and cereal is actually not an item I tend to buy at Costco (Costco vs. Supermarkets); (What NOT to buy at Costco (avoid the “Costco Effect”): Part 1); (“Strong” and “weak” sections of Costco)). I also don’t currently eat fruity cereal (but used to love Apple Jacks). However, a little research this brand revealed that it is quite popular. Therefore, it will likely be a success.

11. Red’s Pork Carnitas Burritos

These frozen burritos are made with pork carnitas, pepper jack cheese, pinto beans, and  tomatillo sauce. They will be sold in Costco stores in the Midwest.

No thank you. No pork for me. However, I see from the reviews that they are popular.

Are you eager to try these new February items being sold in Costco?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment