New Snacks for 2024

Costco has great snacks ((It’s snacktime! (Part 1 of 3)); (It’s snacktime! (Part 2 of 3)); (It’s snacktime! (Part 3 of 3))). Although I tend to stick with the mixed nuts right now (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts), I always check out the snack aisles for new items that look like they would be worth trying.

I have complained about items at Costco being discontinued (It’s Gone? Discontinued Products). However, items being discontinued means that new items are introduced.

My post on the changes expected for 2024 has been very popular (Changes Planned for Costco in 2024). Another change is the addition of new snacks. So, here are 25 new snacks being introduced this year. (However, they may not all be available in all Costco stores).

25 Best New Costco Snacks to Try in 2024

1. Mama’s Choice Fried Calamari Snack

This item is coated, deep fried calamari. It then needs to be heated in the microwave or air fryer. 

As this item is not kosher, I will not be seeking it out. 

2. Reese’s Caramel Big Cups

This candy is the original Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup with a layer of caramel added. They were introduced in 2023. 

I love peanut butter cups. I actually have not had a Reese’s cup in years (I switched over to Justin’s brand and Trader Joe’s brand.) I prefer dark chocolate cups and don’t like the sweetness of too much caramel. Therefore, I am not too interested in these. However, I imagine they will be very popular among those who like very sweet candy.

3. Buffalo Chicken Wilde Protein Chips

These chips are compromised of chicken breast, egg whites, and chicken bone broth.

Again, not kosher. In addition, the idea of chips made of meat sounds unappealing to me.

4. Reese’s Dipped Animal Crackers

This product is animal crackers covered in peanut butter candy and dipped in milk chocolate. 

I used to buy animal crackers at Costco (in a very cute bear jar) a lot when i was in college. I ate WAY too many of them, as they were good to munch on with my hot chocolate while working. I am not too interested in animal crackers with coating. However, for people who like snacks with more sweetness, I imagine these will be very popular. I am not sure what “peanut butter candy” is…I’m guessing it is peanut butter mixed with some sort of oil or corn syrup and sugar to make it sweet and more solid. 

5. Kirkland Signature Caramel S’mores Clusters

This treat consists of kettle-cooked caramel, marshmallows, grahams, and milk chocolate.

I don’t eat marshmallows often because most are not kosher. I bet that many people will love this snack though.

6. Dot’s Original Seasoned Pretzel Twists

These pretzels are buttery and seasoned with spices. 

Not surprisingly, I prefer plain pretzels dipped in peanut butter (Product Review:Kirkland organic creamy peanut butter) or hummus. However, I know that chips, crackers, and pretzels with flavors are quite popular.

7. Girl Scouts Coconut Caramel Bites

These bites are described as a crispy center coated with caramel, coconut, and dark chocolate.

These sound delicious. When we used to buy Girl Scout cookies, although Thin Mints (eaten out of the freezer of course!) were absolutely delicious and the favorite of most people in the house, I always wanted Samoas as well. I have always enjoyed coconut and used to love the very sweet confection. Now that I have a lower tolerance for sweet, I imagine I could only eat a few of these bites at a time but they may be worth a try. (By the way, does anyone remember the long since discontinued Edy’s thin mint ice cream? It was chocolate-mint ice cream with pieces of thin mints. I definitely used to sit with the half gallon (and it actually was a real half gallon…and real ice cream) and just dig in. It was so good.)

8. Kirkland Signature Peanut Butter Pretzel Nuggets

These nuggets are pretzel squares filled with sweet peanut butter. They have actually been sold at Costco for years but were unavailable for a few months in 2023.

Although I mentioned above that I like pretzels dipped in peanut butter, I have never had them premade. I like being able to put a lot of peanut butter on the pretzels and prefer the less sweet natural peanut butter than what I imagine is inside the nuggets. However, these do look good and I have heard good things about them from family members.

9. Yasso Vanilla Bean Poppables

This snack is comprised of vanilla-flavored frozen Greek yogurt coated in chocolate quinoa crisps.

These sound good. I have never had frozen Greek yogurt but I like both frozen yogurt (but not as much as ice cream!) and Greek yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt), so I can’t imagine that they are bad. Although I don’t love chocolate coated ice cream bars, I did enjoy the smaller ice cream bites coated in chocolate that I ate a few times. I always prefer plain ice cream to “novelty type treats” but these look like a relatively healthy and convenient treat for the many people who love ice cream bars.

10. Banana Nut Loaf

This new bakery item is a two-pound banana bread topped with walnuts. 

I love baked goods. Banana bread is not my favorite flavor of baked goods (lemon poppy  is) but I will certainly eat it. I have seen but never tried the packaged Jessica’s banana walnut bread that Costco has sold for years. I don’t know if this new product will replace that bread or if they are selling both. 

11. Kirkland Signature Lightly Breaded Chicken Chunks

These chicken chunks are frozen and require a few minutes of heating before eating.

These are not kosher so not for me. In addition, I don’t find meat to be an appealing “snack”.

12. Skippy Peanut Butter and Chocolate Fudge Wafer Bars

These bars consist of whole grain wafers layered with peanut butter and topped with chocolate.

When I read the description of this item, I was reminded of the Reese’s sticks I used to eat. They were wafers with peanut butter layers and then the bar was coated in chocolate. I remember eating them at my desk in high school while doing my homework and really liking them. I think they’d be too sweet for me now because they combine sweet peanut butter and milk chocolate. However, again, for those looking for a sweet candy, it sounds very good. 

13. Bobo’s PB&J Oat Snack Variety Pack

These snacks are made of a soft peanut butter oat crust filled with either strawberry or grape jelly.

Unsurprisingly, given my “kid” tastes and my love of peanut butter (Product Review:Kirkland organic creamy peanut butter), I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I don’t know if these are kosher. However, even if they are, although they seem like a decent approximation of the classic sandwich, I am not inclined to try them. Peanut butter and jelly is easy enough to make, making it unnecessary for me to buy a packaged version. In addition, while I like raspberry jelly, I really do not like either strawberry or grape jelly. (Yes, I actually do find strawberry and raspberry different enough that, although I really like the latter, I find the former aversive).

14. Sonoma Creamery Pepperoni Pizza Crisps

These chips are described as airy triangle-shaped crisps flavored with mozzarella, pepperoni, and tomato. 

No interest in pepperoni. However, given the popularity of pizza-flavored, cheese-flavored, and virtually any other flavored chips (e.g., dill pickle; cinnamon sugar; sloppy joe; roast chicken), these are likely in demand.

15. Starbucks Sous Vide Egg Bites

Costco sells two varieties. One has bacon and cheese; the other has egg whites and roasted red peppers.

Not kosher so not for me. For those who like the coffee shop snack, however, these egg bites sound like a very convenient option for a snack.

16. Kirkland Signature Almond Florentine Cookies

These cookies are crispy and nutty with a chocolate drizzle.

Some of my favorite special treats growing up were the butter cookies at the grocery store. On occasion, my mom would let me pick out or would surprise me with the leaf cookies (the pink with the chocolate in the middle were my favorite but the white and green were okay too) or the “little men” (essentially the white leafs in a different shape). The stores stopped carrying these cookies a long time ago (I don’t know why) but sometimes they would appear in a mixed selection of fancy cookies. Another item in these mixes was often Florentine cookies (we called them the “lacy cookies”). They were my dad’s favorite. I have not seen these cookies in years so it was a nice memory to see that they are now sold at Costco, even though these were never my favorite. 

17. Bistro 28 Pretzel Bites

This snack is sold in a box with 50 pretzels, cheddar cheese dip, mustard dip, and chunky salt. 

This is not an item for me but sounds like a nice snack “kit” for others who enjoy this type of treat. 

18. Kodiak Flapjack Puffs

These protein-filled pancake puffs are frozen and can be reheated in the microwave, air fryer, or oven. 

I have never had Kodiak products but these sound good. Sometimes foods aimed at providing a lot of protein can have a “chalky” taste and/or aftertaste. However, these may be worth a try, as syrup (Product Review: Kirkland 100% Pure Maple Syrup) may cover any of the chalky flavor, if it does exist. However, I would think of pancakes (even in “puff” form) as  more of a breakfast (or part of a dinner as I love breakfast foods for dinner) than a snack. I also don’t tend to think of foods that need to be cooked (even reheated) as a snack. To me, snacks are (or could be) “grab and go”). 

19. Snak Club Tajín Gummy Bears

These gummy bears are coated with Tajín, which is a tangy, salty, and slightly spicy seasoning. 

Gummy bears are usually made with gelatin and therefore unkosher. Even if they were kosher, the combination of sweet gummy bear with this coating doesn’t sound good to me. However, given the more recent appeal of savory flavored candy (e.g., sweet potato or matcha tea kit Kats), others may find them appealing.

20. Lotus Biscoff Sandwich Cookies

These cookies are two biscoff cookies with a cream filling. Some have a vanilla filling whereas others have a biscoff filling.

I know biscoff and other cookie butter snacks are increasingly common.  I have never tasted it. I wasn’t even sure what the flavor is. I learned that it is a combination of cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter. As someone who loves sugar cookies and snickerdoodles, this combination sounds great. However, it sounds like it would be more appealing as a soft cookie rather than what I am imagining is more of an Oreo like item. I don’t think this brand is kosher but I think other stores sell kosher cookie butter items.

21. Bibigo Kimchi&Cheese Rice Balls

This item is made from kimchi rice balls filled with a mozzarella cheese center. They can be microwaved before eating. 

I won’t be buying this product so it is moot for me but I can’t even imagine what this item could be. I thought kimchi was a fermented cabbage salad and therefore I’m not sure how it would be filled. In addition, cabbage and cheese don’t sound like a great combination to me.

22. Muddy Bites

These bites are small waffle cones filled with milk chocolate (compared to the bottom of a drumstick cone.)

This treat sounds very good. I actually prefer the cake cones to sugar or waffle cones (I actually like them soggy and used to put the ice cream in, leave it in the freezer, and then return to it…in addition to being tasty, there was less danger from that cross cone part on the bottom that can hurt the roof of the mouth). However, the idea of a small waffle cone with chocolate sounds like a very good combination. I bet these would make a good topping for ice cream too (Product Review: Kirkland Super Premium Vanilla Ice Cream).

23. Double Chocolate Chunk Cookie

These cookies replaced the churros in the food court. They are buttery and contain both milk chocolate and semisweet chocolate chips. They are served warm.

I wouldn’t eat them from the food court because of the unkosher oven but they sound amazing. I love warm, melty cookies, especially when they are large enough to have a large soft center. The replacement of the churros with these cookies was one of the big changes for 2024 (Changes Planned for Costco in 2024). Since the cookies have started being served, they have received mixed reviews. 

24. Pulmuone Crispy Potato Corn Dogs

This frozen item is based on a street food common in South Korea and is made of mozzarella cheese with a crispy potato coating. 

Another nonkosher item so no for me. I have not heard of this item and did not see it specifically mentioned in the article on the Costco stores in South Korea (Costco in South Korea (International Series #2)). 

25. Roasted Garlic Parmesan Bread

This bread is flavored with roasted garlic, parmesan cheese, and black pepper. 

I don’t know if stores with kosher bakeries will be selling this bread, given that kosher cheese is hard to find. I am not a garlic bread fan but I can imagine this being a huge success with people. I also don’t think of bread as a snack, but hey, why not?

Are you excited about any of these new snacks for 2024? Have you tried any already? What did you think? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment