Costco in Japan (International Series #6)

Next up in the international series (after Canada (Costco in Canada (International Series #1)), South Korea (Costco in South Korea (International Series #2)), Iceland (Costco in Iceland (International Series #3)), Australia (Costco in Australia (International Series #4), and the United Kingdom (Costco in the United Kingdom (International Series #5))…Japan.

In this article, the author discusses some general information about shopping at one of the  32 Costco warehouses in Japan. She also reports on 15 unique items that can be found in these stores. 

General information/Suggestions 

1. Membership Cards can be Used Internationally 

As has been noted in other posts, a Costco membership from one country can be used at any Costco in the world. In addition, Costco stores in Japan allow members to bring two guests with the membership.

I have written before about my surprise that the memberships are accepted across continents and countries. 

2. Only Mastercard or Cash Accepted

The author reports that Costco stores in Japan only accept Mastercard or cash. She also mentions that there are ATMs in the stores. 

I have written that Costco stores in the United States only accept Visa, cash, or debit. I had not thought about ATMs in stores. However, it is a good idea, as newer members may not know that only one credit card is accepted (Checkout Etiquette: Dos and Don’ts).

3. Plan to Spend Time in the Store

The author recommends planning the day to enable at least three hours in the store.

Three hours? Even for people (Hi!) who enjoy walking around the store looking for deals (Price endings are not random), browsing for new products (How Costco Gets Members to Spend More), or just a general Costco obsession ((10 ways to know you are obsessed with Costco: Part 1); (10 ways to know you are obsessed with Costco: Part 2)), three hours seems like a very long Costco outing. 

4. Not all Stores are Accessible by Train

Apparently only some stores are accessible by train. 

The Costcos to which I have been in the US definitely require access to a car, so it surprised me to even think about being able to take the train. I also can’t imagine carrying Costco items on the train. It hardly seems worth it to go to Costco if relying on public transportation.

15 Unique Items in Costco in Japan

1. Sushi

The author points out that sushi is one of the most popular foods in Japan, therefore making sense for Costco to sell it. The stores sell a variety of platters. According to the author, the sushi is comparable to that served in restaurants.

I have never actually eaten sushi, despite thinking it looks good. (A few of the kosher restaurants nearby have started selling it so I may get my chance). However, if I did eat it, Costco seems like a good place to get platters. Perhaps stores in the US will sell it at some point? Perhaps some in other states (e.g., CA; HI) already do? I was surprised that the article mentions that the platters serve 1-6 people. Given that it is Costco, I would have expected much larger platters. 

2. Seafood

According to the article, in addition to sushi, Costco stores in Japan sell a variety of high quality seafood platters at good prices. The large platters include salmon, spicy cod roe, and sea grapes. 

The only seafood platters I have seen at local Costco stores are shrimp cocktail. 

3. Wagyu Beef

The author mentions the selection of Wagyu beef sold at Costco stores in Japan. Members can purchase slabs of Wagyu beef, thinly sliced wagyu beef for stir-fries, and wagyu beef sliced for yakiniku (Japanese bbq). 

I don’t know what the US sells in terms of “fancy” meat but it sounds as though this variety is larger than that available in the US.

4. Frozen Yakitori

The author reports on frozen yakitori skewers, an item she had never seen at non-Japanese Costcos. She says that they make a good snack or a homemade izakaya experience.

I am surprised that these frozen skewers are not sold at other Costco stores, as they seem like an easy meal to make. I had to do a little research to find out what izakaya means. I learned that it refers to a sake bar that also serves small bites to eat. Sounds similar to tapas or a bar that serves appetizers. 

5. Fruit

Apparently, although unique Japanese fruits (e.g., Hokkaido melons; Japanese watermelons) tend to be expensive, Costco sells them for reasonable prices.

I don’t know much about produce in other countries. However, given the good deals on, and high quality of, produce in the US, ((Product Review: Watermelons); (Product Review: Blueberries); (What Food Experts Purchase at Costco)), I am not surprised.

6. Beauty Desserts

According to the article, Japanese Costco stores sell desserts geared at beauty. 

Specifically, the article mentions drinkable fruit vinegars (thought to improve appearance) that are made into ice cream. 

I liked that the article mentions the perk of being able to get beatified while eating ice cream. (Of course, I think I look good while eating ice cream because of the smile on my face…). While fruit vinegar doesn’t sound too appealing on its own, I imagine it can be transformed when made into ice cream. 

7. Beauty Drinks

The article mentions that Costcos in Japan sell not only beauty desserts but also beauty drinks.  These drinks, aimed to treat rough skin and acne, contain ingredients including collagen, royal jelly, vitamin B2, and amino acids. 

While I am all for improving skin, the ingredients are not appealing for drinking. Even if they were kosher (hard to find with collagen), I’d still rather use a cream.

8. Konjac Jelly

The author mentions that Costco in Japan sells Konjac Jelly snacks. She recommends them for their taste and health benefits. 

I had never heard of this jelly, but my research informed me that it is plant-based and becoming increasingly popular. I have not had fruit snacks in years. I no longer like sweet foods very much and don’t think I could eat more than a few sugary candies. However, I used to like the Sunkist fruit gems. I wonder if these konjac jelly snacks are similar.

9. Japanese Chocolates

According to the author, Costco is the ideal place for purchasing snacks, including chocolate. She reports that the stores in Japan sell the most popular Japanese chocolate brands.

I agree that Costco has excellent snacks ((Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts; (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Super Extra-Large Peanuts; (Product Review: Galil Organic Roasted Chestnuts); (Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola); (It’s snacktime! (Part 1 of 3)); (It’s snacktime! (Part 2 of 3)); (It’s snacktime! (Part 3 of 3)), I actually rarely buy chocolate there, although on a few occasions I have enjoyed it (Product Review: Hu Dark Chocolate Gems).

10. Pain au Chocolat

According to the article, there are several bakery items that are unique to Japan. Specifically, the article mentions Pain au Chocolate.

I certainly would not have guessed that pain au chocolate would be a unique product of Japan rather than France!  It also makes me realize that Costco does not sell chocolate croissants, which seems like it might be a popular item. (Although, when I used to eat pastries out, I noticed there was a large difference in the quality of these pastries, with some seeming more like a liquid chocolate inside the dough and others like a croissant with a few chocolate chips stuck inside). These days the closest I can come to finding pain au chocolat is chocolate rugelach and chocolate babka.

11. Japanese Sake

The article mentions that, although Costco is known for selling a variety of alcohol in general, Costco stores in Japan offer a large selection of Japanese sake (nihonshu) at good prices.

I have never had sake but I know many enjoy it.

12. Japanese Tea

The author also highlights the variety of high quality teas sold at Costco stores in Japan.

I have written before that I do not drink much tea. However, because I do like tea that doesn’t pretend to be fruit flavored, perhaps I would prefer a simple Japanese tea.

13. Instant Drip Coffee

Apparently, drip coffee originated in Japan, providing an easy and efficient method of making coffee when in a rush. One can buy this coffee in Japanese Costco stores.

I don’t drink coffee and had to look up drip coffee. 

14. Japanese Skincare

The article mentions that Japan is known for high quality skincare. Costco enables members to buy large sizes of these high quality products. 

I don’t know much about these products but I would trust that they are good quality 

15. Japanese Sunscreen

The author also reports on the availability of high quality Japanese sunscreen in Costco stores in Japan. 

I tend to buy my Coppertone sunscreen at Costco when on sale in the summer or the store brand at Target. Both seem fine to me.

What do you think about the general information about, and unique items sold at, Costco stores in Japan? Have you been to a Japanese Costco?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment