Got gas?

No, not THAT kind…although I am sure that if you do, Costco has a remedy in the medicine/health section that would provide a lifetime cure for 100  daily Taco Bell eaters. Sorry, couldn’t resist…

Anyway, I am referring to fuel for your automobile. Unfortunately for those of us who like a good deal on gas (so…all of us), not all Costco warehouses have gas stations. In fact, despite having been to Costco stores in several states, the first time I saw a gas station was at the Dedham location.

http://www.costco.com/gasoline.html

It is a shame that more stores do not have gas stations, as the gas is the cheapest you will find (not a surprise). This summer, I was shocked to see the price of Costco gas to be under $2/gallon, a good 20-30 cents less than other stations. Last week, it was $1.91, again about 20-30 cents less than the other nearby stations. (My family was upset that they had filled up the tank the day before, having forgotten that they would be in Dedham the next day.) My mom has joked that, it is such a deal that it is tempting to drive around the parking lot so that we can fill up again (of course this would be silly, but it is awfully fun to find such a good price). Even more tempting is to bring containers to fill up…I haven’t done that but it has crossed my mind.

So…if your Costco has a gas station, remember to drain your tank as much as possible before going there! You can fill up your car with gas and high quality food and products!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Got gas?

  1. BJsisbetter says:

    Well, Costco’s may have cheap gas, but their chicken salad has e-coli. How come you didn’t report that? Costco’s may not be as great as you think–and may be dangerous. No more chicken products for me—rotisserie chicken or chicken soup—they have too much salt for someone my age anyway. So stop sounding like a Costco’s groupie and try to be, as Bill O’Reilly is, “fair and balanced.”

    Like

    • cruisingcostco says:

      BJsisbetter, I admit to also liking BJs but definitely prefer Costco! As you probably read recently, the latest is that the celery was the source of the ecoli rather than the chicken–not that it makes it okay, but I wouldn’t necessarily avoid their poultry. But fair enough point. I am certainly not claiming that Costco is perfect, but I do love it and therefore am mostly posting positive comments. However, I respect other opinions and am certainly happy to have you continue posting. You can be the “balance” that you are requesting. And of course, you can start your own blog!

      Like

  2. cruisingcostco says:

    Bjsisbetter, thanks for reading! I actually like BJs a lot too, although I prefer Costco. The chicken salad scare is a big deal–although it sounds like the culprit was the celery vs. the chicken…not saying that is good, but you may not have to forego Costco poultry altogether. I write this blog because I love Costco, so most of my posts will be positive. However, feel free to provide that balance that you request, or of course, you could start your own blog!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Countering anti-Costco sentiments: Part 1 | Cruising Costco

  4. Pingback: Kirkland Products: 12 to buy | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment