Product Review: Golden Taste Broccoli Kugel

I always review some of the Passover foods at Costco, especially when they change from previous years (of course it is too late for my review to help this year (if it ever does…), but maybe for the future…) A few years ago, I reviewed the broccoli kugel from Classic Cooking (Product Review: Classic Cooking broccoli soufflé). It was delicious and well worth buying extra to eat even after the holiday. Last year, Costco carried Meal Mart kugels and the broccoli was very disappointing (Product Review x3: Meal Mart Passover kugels). 

In my most recent post about the Passover selection (What do you think of the Passover selection?), I noted that different Costco stores were carrying different brands of kugels. Whereas some stores had Meal Mart again, the Massachusetts locations had Golden Taste.  I have really enjoyed the other products from this brand, so I thought it would likely be good as well (and had to be better than the Meal Mart one!)…and it was!

Without being able to directly compare it to Classic Cooking, from what I recall, it seems to be almost as good. I *think* it is slightly softer and “squishier” (maybe “eggier”?) than the Classic Cooking variety, but the taste was very good. As with the other kugels, it was tasty on its own and a good side dish for a flavorful main course such as the (very salty) lox, whitefish salad , or tuna salad I often eat on Passover. While I did not feel the need to run out and buy more of it, I would happily eat it again at other times of the year.

As with the other brands, the  sold in two trays per package, each package designed to serve six people. Even as a side, a sixth would be quite a skimpy portion so I had two portions at a time as the side dish. I ate both trays during the week so I did not have to freeze it, but I imagine that it would freeze and reheat well. Although these kugels are best when heated in the oven (so the edges can crisp up), microwaving is far easier and results in a very good side dish.

They are currently on markdown in Dedham (and likely other places too) and priced at $2.97 (Price endings are not random) for both trays so if you liked it and/or want to try it, now is a good time!

From what I read, Classic Cooking is still making kugels but just did not make separate ones for Passover, so we shall see if they are back at Costco for the High Holidays or if Golden Taste is now the “kugel to buy.”

Did anyone else try the Golden Taste kugel? Thoughts? How do you think it compares to the other brands?

And did anyone try the potato one? I did not but family members said that it was not too good–too soft. It is too bad because the Meal Mart one was actually pretty good but each store only gets one brand so I guess we are stuck with either good broccoli, bad potato or the other way around…
I did not see the apple matzah variety this year but perhaps Golden Taste just does not make it whereas the other companies did/do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Golden Taste Broccoli Kugel

  1. Pingback: Product Review: ACME Smoked Salmon | Cruising Costco

  2. Pingback: Product Review: ACME Maple Smoked Salmon | Cruising Costco

Leave a comment