More Comments Unlikely to be Said/Heard at Costco

Being the silly people that we are, my family sometimes plays a “game” in which we generate a scenario and come up with the “least likelies.” For example, we might generate a list of the least likely things someone would say in a situation, jobs someone would have, reasons something happened, etc. (It’s actually really fun…and funny!)

It has been awhile since I wrote a “sillier” Costco post. I know these are not particularly informative. However, they are fun to write. I will also include some factual info and links to other posts to provide something more substantial (I realize I am making the assumption that my other posts contain substantial information). 

An early blog post was on the statements I thought would be most and least likely heard at Costco (Most and least likely comments at Costco:) I am now writing the “least likely” with some more commentary. There are some similar statements–unsurprisingly as Costco is still Costco and I am still me!

10 things you’d be least likely to hear/say at Costco:

1. “This package is too small. We will run out.”

Of course a comment about the quantity has to be here!  Costco is obviously known for selling items in multiples and/or large quantities. The sizes are definitely a draw of the warehouse model. However, I recently read several articles discussing how one actually does not save money (and may lose money) if a lot of what is bought gets wasted (most likely to happen with food). Logically, we obviously know that it is not a deal if a lot is unused but the huge amounts for the Costco prices are hard to resist. And so, when people are excited about the tubs of cream cheese, the multiple heads of lettuce, and the pounds of berries, they certainly are not worried about running low. This lack of concern about “too few” applies even more to items that don’t expire (25 sharpie pens, anyone?).

2. “See, in and out in 10 minutes. Just like I said.”

Running in and out of Costco in just a few minutes is possible (not for me but I know my mom has done it) but rare. For most Costco members I know, shopping there is an “event” that requires time. The time required may be due to many reasons. Some people make infrequent trips to the store and need to find a lot of items. Others (hi!) like to browse for new items and 97s (Price endings are not random.)  etc. It may be a lengthy outing for others because they shop and then “eat out” in the store (Out for lunch…at Costco?)For many reasons, a trip to Costco is rarely a “run-in-run-out” stop. 

3. “Wow, I’m worried those vegetables might rot in the chiller room. It is too warm.”

That room is FREEZING. Enough said. Well, no not enough I guess as I am going to continue. I refuse to go in there unless absolutely necessary, sending my shopping companions in instead. However, there are benefits to the cool temp in the summer (On a Road Trip? Stop at Costco!); (Living at Costco: seasonal benefits).

4. “Wow, it’s empty in here.”

Ha, an empty Costco? I have certainly been in the store at lighter times but still busy. 

5. “Argh. It is taking forever to check out.”

As I have written about, Costco cashiers are extremely efficient (May I help you? Checking out at Costco). Many stores have also added self checkout lanes over the past several years. Self checkout lanes can actually make checking out a longer process at many stores (e.g., the person checking out  forgot an item and leaves to go get it, rings up produce with the incorrect code and needs an employee to fix it, or buys a cantaloupe that ends up spinning around and around). However, because Costco has people helping out at the self checkout lanes and are able to quickly intervene when there are problems, the process generally runs smoothly.

6. “Too bad they don’t sell a quick meal here. I’m hungry after that shopping.”

Hellooooo food court! People shopping at Costco often get food there. In addition, as I  have written about, others go there specifically to eat at the food court (Out for lunch…at Costco?)

7. “Kirkland brand? No way. Store brands are never good quality.”

I remember a few store brand foods that I ate growing up. Cereal sticks out in my memory. Although we often had the name brand cereals, sometimes we bought store brands. Although not bad, the “Crispy Hexagons” (faux Chex) and “Tastee-Os” (faux Honey Nut Cheerios) were  not as good as the originals. I can understand why people often prefer the brand name over the store brand. However, store brands have improved a lot since then, are often made by “real companies”, and sometimes even preferable. Kirkland is definitely an exception to any concerns about “lower quality” store brands. These products are extremely high quality ((More Top Notch Kirkland Products); (Who makes Kirkland products? (Part 1 of 3)); (Who makes Kirkland products? (Part 2 of 3)); (Who makes Kirkland products? (Part 3 of 3)).

8. “Don’t worry I know exactly where to find it.”

To be honest, I think I generally do know where to find most items at Costco. However, because the store is designed to promote browsing, I’ll pretend that it is very difficult to know where items are. Aisles are not labeled and Costco frequently moves items around to encourage browsing and spending more (How Costco Gets Members to Spend More.)

9. “See, that’s what I showed you the add for!”

As I noted in my post about Costco facts (An assortment of Costco facts (Part 1 of 2)), the store does not do any advertising.

10. “I wish we were at BJs.”

I have written posts comparing the different warehouse stores ((Costco vs. Sam’s vs. BJs: part 1); Costco vs. Sam’s vs. BJs: part 2); (Costco vs. Sam’s vs. BJs: part 3); (Costco vs. Sam’s vs. BJs: part 4.)) I admit that I am a fan of BJs and like being a member of both. I do prefer being able to buy some items in smaller quantities and the stores contain some different items. So, when BJs has a special membership deal, I’m going to join. However, in contrast to the BJs “nice to join”, Costco is a “must join”. I think that this loyalty to Costco is common. 

Have you heard any of these or do you agree with me? Any other statements you would not expect to hear?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment