Samples return to Costco!

One of my first posts was about different types of samplers (What kind of “sampler” are you?) Then, a few years ago, I wrote another (largely joking but also based on observations) post about what people who give out the samples at Costco might think about different shoppers (A day in the life of a “Sample Giver”.) As samples tend to be one of the unique aspects of Costco (and other warehouse stores), it certainly would have been hard to believe that it would be big news when Costco re-introduced them to their stores. 


Enter COVID-19 pandemic of 2020 (and ongoing, unfortunately) and the many changes that came along with it…Costco announced that most stores would be phasing samples back in during June 2021, after being stopped in March 2020. I have not searched for data about whether Costco has researched if the lack of samples  has affected sales (or even whether one could research this given that there are…STATISTICS NERD ALERT!… lots of other confounds that go along with the pandemic.) However, many research studies have demonstrated that sampling can significantly increase sales, so it makes sense that Costco would be eager to bring them back.

However, there are changes in how the samples will be are prepared and served. 
https://www.today.com/food/costco-s-free-samples-are-returning-stores-june-t220067

According to this article, the main changes in how the samples will be prepared are served are the following:

-Samples will be prepared behind plexiglass

-Samples will be prepared in smaller batches

-Samples will be handed out individually to customers

(Therefore, the old “oh what’s that? I’ll grab one” sampling approach is no longer permitted.)


I have actually been to Costco a few times since June and noticed that the samples were back but did not pay enough attention to see the differences.Next time to go to Costco, I will watch and see the changes and also if it seems like many people are trying them.

What do you think? 

Have you missed samples?

Do you think it is wise to bring them back now?

Are you comfortable trying samples in stores now? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Samples return to Costco!

  1. Susan Klement says:

    I didn’t notice that samples were gone. I usually don’t try them because I try not to eat between meals. Also, the samples are usually for high carb, high fat, high sodium foods that I don’t eat. I’ve read that the plexiglass is of no use against the COVID virus, which travels above, below and around the plexiglass. I’ve also read that transmission is from person to person so it probably doesn’t get transmitted via food. I would try a sample now if it were something I really wanted to eat. I’m 80 years old so I isolated myself for many months before I was fully vaccinated and even for quite a while afterwards. I’m fully vaccinated but, due to Delta, I am going back to mask wearing indoors in places where there are many people, such as Costco. Wearing a mask will inhibit sample trying. Thanks for your interesting and informative blog.

    Like

    • I’m glad you like the blog! A mask definitely would make things more difficult re: sampling. Actually, I had read that, while Costco was stil requiring masks, samples were handed out individually and only allowed to be eaten outside of the store. I wonder how the Delta variant and the potential that masks will start being required again inside will affect the sample decision.

      Like

Leave a comment