Spring Items at Costco

 It’s Spring! I love when Spring arrives because, although there are still cold days (and we often used to get snow in April), it means that the warmer, sunnier months are here. As I wrote about recently, Costco has seasonal items (Navigating Seasonal Items at Costco). In this post, I will write about some Spring items that are currently at Costco. 

1. Mini Carrot Cakes

These carrot cakes are made with raisins, walnuts, and cream cheese icing. There is a frosting carrot on top for decoration. They come in packs of six. 

I am not going to buy these cakes but they certainly are adorable! They would be good to serve at a gathering because they are a reasonable serving size (although probably better cut in half). I have actually only eaten carrot cake once, in college. I actually liked it (and love zucchini bread) quite a bit. However, because it is not something my family eats, I tend not to buy it for myself. I also worry that it may contain dried fruit (e.g., raisins, like this one). At $8.99, these are a great deal, given that a smaller muffin or cupcake at a regular bakery probably costs $2.50 or $3.

2. Easter Belgian Chocolate-Covered Strawberries

The article suggests adding this chocolate-covered strawberry assortment to an Easter dessert spread. It is a box of 12, hand designed, hand-dipped dark, milk, and white Belgian chocolate-covered strawberries. They are decorated with Belgian chocolate drizzles, chocolate gems, sprinkles, and bunny and chick designs. It can be ordered online. 

I don’t celebrate Easter. For those who do, by the time this post is posted, Easter will have passed. Nevertheless, I imagine that people may order these chocolate strawberries for other occasions. I think that I am one of the rare people who don’t love (or even like) chocolate covered strawberries. They are very pretty (and for events in college they were decorated to look like tuxedos). However, despite loving chocolate and loving fruit, I do not like two together. 

3. Sugar Plum Happy Easter Chocolate

According to the article, Costco sells this box of treats online. It contains milk and white chocolate-covered pretzels, milk chocolate-covered sandwich cookies, milk chocolate-covered graham crackers, milk chocolate nonpareils, jelly beans, and a chocolate Easter bunny.

Although advertised as an Easter item and containing a chocolate Easter bunny, I imagine people may still buy the box after Easter. Again, I don’t celebrate Easter and don’t actually like many of the items. It’s interesting to see the inclusion of the nonpareils because they are an item I really only associate with movie theaters. Given my frugal tendencies, I’m sure it’s not a surprise that I did not often buy snacks at movie theaters but I did often see the boxes of nonpareils. 

4. Loacker Minis Spring Mix

The author writes about the new item by Loacker, the Italian wafer company. These bags contain 80 individually wrapped, cream-filled wafers. There are the three flavors (lemon, vanilla, and raspberry yogurt). 

These wafers look good and I like each of the three flavors. It is also appealing that they are individually wrapped because they are likely to stay fresh longer. 

5. Sugared Orange Rolls

Costco’s bakery just started selling an all-butter croissant pastry with orange zest, cinnamon, and granulated sugar. 

This pastry is not appealing to me because, as I have mentioned, I don’t like croissants (Best Costco Items to Freeze; (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee)). I also don’t think that an orange pastry sounds very good (although I love lemon pastry). However, I can imagine others being very excited about this new item. In addition, it is a great deal at $8.99 for 9 rolls. 

6. The Fruit Company Grand Spring 8 Box Tower

The article mentions this gift box that contains four green Anjou pears, four red Anjou pears, 4 Fuji apples, two flower cookies, Australian red licorice, mixed nuts, watermelon fruit gummies, caramel cashew crunch popcorn, honey wheat crackers, and a chipotle cheese triangle. There are eight boxes in this tower and it is wrapped in a satin ribbon. It is only available online.

I have never actually given someone a gift package like this. However, this tower contains a wide variety of items and looks very pretty.

7. Mother’s Day Gift Tray

The author suggests this tray as an item to serve for a Mother’s Day gathering. It contains  a gouda cheese spread, crackers, mixed olives, soppressata salami, stone ground mustard, and honey mustard sourdough pretzels. It can be ordered online.

I think it is a little odd that this tray would be recommended as an item to serve for Mother’s Day when it is sold as a gift item. As I mentioned above, I don’t order gift packages. In addition, my family has never made a big deal of the “special days” for which presents tend to be given. We always focused on appreciation every day and giving gifts because we felt like it, not because it was a specific day on the calendar.

8. Lemon Meringue Cheesecake

This cake was introduced last spring and is making its return a year later. It is described as a graham cracker crust, layered with lemon cheesecake, tangy lemon filling, and a toasted meringue topper. It is almost four pounds and costs $22. 

I have written about the Costco cheesecake several times and how, despite its appeal, I have never actually tried it (Best Costco Items to Freeze); (New Items for February 2024); (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 1 of 2): Advice from a Professional); (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee); (“Would you bring a dessert?”); (Would You Recommend?)). I actually tend to prefer plain cheesecake to the more “decorated” varieties. For example, I do not like chocolate cheesecake or even cheesecake with fruit on top. Therefore, I would be more likely to choose plain cheesecake over this seasonal edition. Nevertheless, the description sounds very good and it seems like such a great dessert to serve at a spring or summer event.

9. Blueberry Lemon Loaf

The article mentions yet another spring bakery item with the suggestion of this loaf. Like the cheesecake, this is its second spring in existence at Costco. It is a cake-like lemon loaf filled with blueberries, drizzled with lemon icing, and topped with a butter streusel. 

This loaf sounds delicious. I love lemon pastry. Lemon poppy muffins are one of my favorite treats and I also very much enjoy lemon pound cake. I also like blueberries, both plain (Product Review: Blueberries) and in baked goods (whether baked into a pie or I’m muffins). I remember trying a Costco muffin years ago that I think was lemon blueberry flavored. I also love streusel topping and would love to just buy the crumbs from bakeries and eat them with a spoon.

10. Thin Mint Bites

Costco sells a variation on Thin Mints. Thin Mint Bites are small, spherical treats with a crispy center, a layer of mint, and a dark chocolate coating. They are sold in 20-ounce bags.

I wrote about these treats in my post about March items (Costco Deals in March 2024).

11. Multi-Plate Mini Waffle 

The author mentions this miniature waffle maker that enables the creation of waffles in shapes. Shapes include bumble bees, four-leaf clovers, bunnies, and sunflowers. The plates are nonstick and dishwasher-safe. It can be ordered online.

This waffle maker sounds like a lot of fun. Homemade waffles are always a treat and shapes are even more special. I think this waffle maker would be a fun present for children and could be a good way to encourage them to participate in meal preparation.

What do you think about these Spring items? Will you buy any of them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment