Costco Foods You Missed: At Least You Know About Them Now

My mom and I have always enjoyed spending a day here and there shopping . It could been for a specific purpose or “just because”. Even though we had the most success at the larger, non-mall stores, we liked walking around the malls and visiting stores we did not frequent as often. However, we noticed that, because we tended to go to the same few malls closest to our house, we knew where our favorite stores were. Therefore, we often walked past new stores or stores that might be fun to visit, despite being unlikely to buy anything. Furthermore, within the stores we liked, we knew the displays and therefore missed other items. Therefore, on occasion (not too often or the same familiarity would result), we drove farther to get a fresh look at a “novel” mall.

This same phenomenon can occur in Costco. My family generally knows what we want and where to find most of it (not all because of the tendency to move items around (How Costco Gets Members to Spend More); (Costco Surprises)). Therefore, we may not stop to look at other items and miss items that may not even be new. Sure, focusing on the needed items is more efficient, but less thorough. When not pressed for time, I tend to look at every aisle for the 97’s (Price endings are not random) but, even so, items can be easy to miss. 

I came across this article suggesting 14 foods that may get overlooked but that members would wish they knew about sooner. The article attributes missing items to Costco’s large size. I find this reasoning true and ironic, because, although Costco actually sells far fewer items than other stores (Countering anti-Costco sentiments: Part 1); (Freedom of or from choice?)), the sheer size can be overwhelming. I have written about some of the items in this list, have seen some but was/am not interested, and some I have never seen (perhaps my stores don’t carry them or I may just not have noticed them).

1. Kirkland Signature Cashew Clusters

Costco

The author describes these clusters very positively, mentioning their composition of cashews, almonds, and pumpkin seeds, stuck together with sugar and a sprinkle of sea salt. She writes about the appealing balance of the nuts and points out that the snack stays in its clusters (vs crumbling) and is a filling treat. 

I wrote a review of these clusters several years ago so I don’t have much to add here (Product Review: Kirkland Cashew Clusters). These days I am generally eating plain nuts (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts).

2. deMilan Panettone Classico Tin Cake

The article provides some information about Panettone.  Apparently, it is a common holiday cake from Italy consisting of a crumb loaf cake with candied fruit. The author cautions that these cakes are often too dry but that the variety sold at Costco has a great texture and is filled with raisins and orange peel. In addition, the crust is crisp and sturdy and a good textural contrast to the center of the cake. 

Honestly, this cake sounds unappealing to me. Even if kosher, I have never tried nor had any interest in trying fruit cake. Although I do like dried fruit and eat raisin bread and love coffee cake (Costco Wish List 2), the idea of dried fruit in the cake does not sound good. I don’t recall seeing it. However, as a holiday cake, perhaps it’s only available part of the year and I would not be looking at it.

3. That’s It Mini Fruit Bars

This item is sold in bags with three types of bars, each made exclusively of fruit. The strawberry bar is apple and strawberry, mango is apple and mango, and blueberry is blueberry and apple (poor apple…always an ingredient but not mentioned in the name). The article discusses the benefits of this snack as a tasty way to eat more fruit and get more fiber while being an efficient snack to take places and eat quickly. They are described as a block of fruit with different textures throughout, some pureed, some chunks. 

These fruit snacks sound good. I have seen them (and know family members but them) but have not tried them. I love fresh fruit and would choose it over dried fruit or fruit snacks. However, because these treats are pure fruit, they are a good option to keep in a bag, car, or office. The texture also sounds good. I remember eating fruit roll-ups as a kid and folding them over to get a denser bite, so it sounds like they did it for me here. Regarding flavors, I tend not to like fake strawberry or blueberry. However, because these snacks are actual fruit vs fake flavoring, I imagine I might like them.

4. Kirkland Signature Praline Pecans

According to the article, these nuts don’t tend to be discussed as much as other nut-based snacks at Costco and suggests they should be discussed more. They are recommended for the high quality of the pecans, whose strong taste prevents them from being too sweet despite the coating, which is described as a sweet sugary glaze, butter and salt. The nuts are fully coated, giving the pecans a new texture. They are also apparently filling.

I didn’t used to like pecans because I found them a little bitter. Now I really like them and find them buttery vs bitter. In the past, I probably would have wanted to try these nuts. However, now that I don’t like sweet food so much and generally eat plain nuts (Product Review: Kirkland Signature Extra Fancy Unsalted Mixed Nuts), I am not interested. I have seen these in the snack aisle of my local Costco. 

5. Kirkland Signature Costa Rica Coffee

The author mentions that there are multiple varieties of Kirkland coffee. She writes that the Costa Rica coffee is a dark roast, and has hints of smoke, caramel, and fruit. She says it is good plain or with milk and/or sugar.

I don’t drink coffee and don’t even know what dark roast means and am at a loss when people say some brands are too dark or too strong. I have never noticed this coffee but I also never look at coffee at all. 

6. Beemster Whole Wheel Gouda

The article discusses the 24-pound wheel of Gouda (for $299.99). The author reports that she has served it at a party with good success. She emphasizes that one type of cheese is easier to serve than multiple types, that it is easy to slice, very tasty, and good in combination with crackers and/or fruit. 

I’ve written before about the cheese section at Costco (“Strong” and “weak” sections of Costco). It seems like this item would be hard to miss. However, I don’t look at the cheese because it’s not kosher.

7. Golden Island Korean Barbecue Pork Jerky

The author describes this product as a high quality jerky that is soft and has a strong pork (vs beef) flavor. It is coated in a Korean barbecue blend of soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, sesame, onion powder, and vinegar.

Definitely not for me! 

8. Kirkland Signature Creamy Almond Butter

The article mentions that, although peanut butter is still the most common nut butter, almond butter is much more common and mainstream than it used to be. It mentions that this variety of almond butter is high quality, with a very strong almond flavor due to almonds being its sole ingredient. It says it is creamy and thick and spreads well. The article also recommends serving it with fruit, in a sandwich, or on pancakes. 

I have eaten a lot of this almond butter and wrote a review of it (Product Review: Kirkland almond butter). I agree on the taste, and much prefer it to the almond butter I have had that include palm oil. However, I find it difficult to spread due to how runny it is…it feels more like pouring it! It is good just on a spoon but also with foods such as apples, rice cakes, bread, and waffles. 

9. Nutty & Fruity Spicy Chili Tamarind Bites

This item is bites consisting of the tamarind fruit (which the author says is the main flavor in pad Thai), with a chewy soft texture and a tropical taste. Apparently, these bites are very spicy (and become more sick as eaten), as high due to the chili (which is combined with sugar and paprika). 

I didn’t even know that tamarind was a fruit. If asked, I would have said it was a spice. The texture sounds good but not the flavor. I have never noticed these bites before, not surprisingly, as they are not a snack in which I am interested.

10. Sugar Bowl Bakery Petite Palmiers

The author describes Palmiers as a French pastry made of puff pastry and then topped with sugar and baked. She recommends trying this dessert in general and gives this brand a high review. She describes them as flaky but not crumbly, with slightly crusted edges, a buttery inside that contrasts with the sugary and slightly salty outside. 

I have seen these in Costco (as well as in other stores) but have never been interested in trying them. I am not drawn to most flaky pastry, including croissants (Best Costco Items to Freeze); (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee)), Napoleons, or baklava (I love spinach pie though…but even then, more the filling than the outer crust). However, these cookies are pretty and would make a nice addition to a dessert platter (maybe with fruit and whipped cream) and served with coffee or tea. 

11. NuTrail Honey Nut Granola

The article praises this granola for being one of the few varieties that is not overly sweet, due to the use of monk fruit extract rather than sugar. Apparently, the lighter flavor enables one to really taste the individual ingredients (pecans, coconut, almonds, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds). Unlike most granola, this variety does not contain oats, consistent with its target audience (um…eaters?) being individuals following a keto or gluten-free diet. Although different, the author reports that it is very good with a variety of textures and flavors, and makes a healthy snack for those wanting energy. 

It would take a pretty amazing granola to lead me to choose it over the granola I always get at Costco (Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola). People can certainly eat multiple types of granola. However, I love the granola that I buy so much that I don’t want to miss an opportunity to eat it. In addition, although I like the idea of a less sweet variety, granola without oats doesn’t seem like granola. It seems more like trail mix. It could still be good in yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt) but doesn’t seem like a cereal option to me,especially with the seeds. I also would be wary of the monk fruit as sweetener. My understanding is that, although helpful for the lighter foods (e.g., low calorie ice creams or candy), monk fruit is a frequent cause of gastrointestinal upset for many.

12. Trufflehunter White Truffle Oil

The article draws attention to the well-priced truffle oil at Costco, an item generally hard to find and associated with fancy restaurants. Apparently, this truffle oil has a strong scent and strong taste. Little needed at a time, the author claims it adds a depth to most foods (e.g., potatoes; bread; popcorn). However, she most enthusiastically recommends using it on pasta. 

I would not have guessed that Costco would sell truffle oil. I never buy oil so I wouldn’t look for it and I am not going to buy it. However, it is good to know for people who cook a lot. 

13. Kirkland Signature All Chocolate Bag

The author likes this item because it enables members to purchase large bags of chocolate-based candy (150 pieces) rather than bags mixed with both chocolate and non-chocolate candy (e.g., caramels). The bag contains 10 chocolate based candies (Twix, York Peppermint Patties, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Peanut M&Ms, Milk Chocolate M&Ms, Milky Way, Kit Kat, Almond Joy, Snickers, 100 Grand).

I don’t eat much candy anymore so I wouldn’t look at it in the snack aisles. I have seen the boxes of the full size candy bars but hadn’t noticed the mixed bags (except for Halloween). However, this variety pack sounds like a great combination. The only few candies in the bag that I don’t like as much (but do not find them bad) are Milky Ways (I don’t like nougat and never liked Three Musketeers either), Kit Kats, (they always seemed bland), and Almond Joys (I love coconut but preferred the Mounds with the dark chocolate and no nuts). It’s funny to read about some of these items and remember what I used to love and how that’s changed. For awhile the 100 Grand was my favorite (I remember storing candy in the freezer to make it last and finding 100 Grand bars months later). Now out of this list, the Peanut M&Ms sound the most appealing as they are likely the least sweet (although i still agree with my mom that salted peanuts with plain M&Ms are even  better). Wow, clearly I can write and talk about candy almost as much as about ice cream (my parents have told me that I used to spend long car trips talking about candy). Although I would not buy it for myself, I’m glad to know about this item in case I want to buy a mixture for an event. I don’t associate Costco with the best candy prices but that is probably because most of the candy I ate growing up was the candy bought right after the holidays when marked down 75-90%(oh yes, half off was not nearly enough). 

14. Loacker Classic Crispy Hazelnut Wafers

The article compares these wafers to other, more familiar wafer-based treats. The author differentiates them from Kit Kats by not being coated in chocolate, or the bright sugary ones often found in grocery stores. Instead, they are wafers with a hazelnut cream filling. She describes the wafers as very thin and crispy, with a strongly flavored hazelnut cream that is not overly sugary. 

These wafers look good. I have definitely seen the package. However, I don’t generally think about or buy cookie-like treats other than chocolate chip cookies. I also don’t know if I like hazelnut, being one of the few people who has probably never tried Nutella. It was funny to see the reference to those bright colored wafer cookies. I remember eating them for snacks at camp or school and how sweet they were (a good thing at the time!) with the Oreo cream like filling. 

A phenomenon that I find fascinating is synchronicity, in which once aware of something, we tend to notice it many places. Now that I have become aware of these items, I wonder if I will hear others discussing them, see them written about, or see them in Costco or other stores. 

Have you seen these items? If not, do you wish you’d known about them sooner? Are there any items that you suspect others may not have noticed but that you’d recommend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment