Brunch by Costco: 25 menu suggestions

Brunch…such a wonderful meal. By calling it brunch, it seems to provide “permission” to eat more (hey, it’s two meals…so who cares if I eat enough for five meals) in general and more “indulgent” foods than for an everyday breakfast. It also seems like a very social and relaxed meal that can last a long time. 

I associate brunch the most with visiting my grandparents. They hosted Sunday brunches every weekend for other relatives and I loved when we were visiting and got to be there. I’ve written about these meals before and how they contained enough food to have fed the entire building. I slept in the living room and would hear my grandpa leave very early (5 am) to get bagels, and then I’d help my grandma set the table and prepare the food. We had bagels, lox, whitefish, fruit, eggs, pancakes, and probably several varieties of cookies and a chocolate babka. 

My second major experience of brunch was in college. I was on the meal plan and on Sundays they only served two meals. It was always a big deal to make plans to meet friends for Sunday brunch and spend an extended period of time eating the relaxed meal rather than the rushed breakfast or lunch before running to class. 

Since then, I still associate brunch with delicious food, friends and family, and relaxation.

So…let’s let Costco cater a huge brunch…(now, i can’t imagine serving all of these at one brunch but the article I found provides a lot of options).

25 Costco Items for Brunch

1. Bagels

The author of this article acknowledges that members debate the quality of the bagels sold at Costco. However, she writes that they are a good deal and are available in multiple varieties.

I have written multiple times about being a bagel snob and not buying bagels at Costco ((New Items for February 2024); (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee)). I also would not dare serve Costco bagels to my New York family as it might result in my being kicked out of the family! However, I do agree that bagels are a classic brunch item. 

2. Mix and Match Muffins

The article mentions that members  can pick two varieties of muffins (6 each) at a time. She recommends cutting the muffins into smaller pieces, as they are very large.

These muffins are a great deal and definitely big enough to split among people. I also really like the option of buying two different varieties. 

3. Kirkland Signature Cinnamon Rolls

Apparently, this treat is not always available. These cinnamon rolls have cream cheese icing and are sold with the intention that members will heat them before eating. 

I don’t recall seeing these cinnamon rolls in my local stores. However, if I did see them, I think they sound like a great option to add to an assorted pastry tray at a brunch. Although I don’t love icing on cinnamon rolls because I find it too sweet, I know that for many, the more icing (especially cream cheese frosting), the better. As an added bonus, baking cinnamon rolls make the house smell amazing, adding to the cozy brunch feeling.

4. Foppen Smoked Norwegian Salmon Slices

This package of lox contains three varieties: plain, pepper, and dill, as well as a honey mustard dill sauce. 

I have definitely written about the smoked salmon at Costco multiple times before, as they sell numerous varieties (Product Review: ACME Smoked Salmon); (Product Review:Kirkland Signature Smoked Salmon); (“Strong” and “weak” sections of Costco)) My family tends to stick to the Kirkland brand (unless the Bluehill Bay/Acme is on sale) as it is the best value and we actually prefer it to other brands. I love other Foppen salmon (Product Review: Foppen Hot Smoked Salmon), but I don’t think I’d like flavored lox as much as plain.

5. La Terra Fina Quiches

There are two varieties of the quiche sold in the pack:  cheddar and broccoli and spinach and artichoke.

I have not had quiche in decades. To be honest, I think I like the idea of quiche more than I like the quiche itself. It just sounds like such a a tasty food. That said, I think quiche is a good addition to a brunch because it generally contains vegetables which add color, and the wedges (or small tartlets) look pretty. These ones are not kosher but they sound like good combinations of eggs, cheese, and vegetables if they were. 

6. Path of Life Seasoned Breakfast Blend Potatoes

The author recommends adding breakfast potatoes to brunch table. She says that these potatoes, with Mexican spices, are a little spicy. 

These potatoes are not kosher but I do like breakfast potatoes. I like both small potato chunks mixed with vegetables and shredded potatoes. (Before eating kosher, I remember liking the hashed brown “pancakes”) at fast food restaurants.

7. Kirkland Butter Croissants

The article suggests these croissants for brunches, either plain, by adding chocolate chips, or by using them for bread pudding. It comments on the good value of this pastry.

I have written before that I don’t like croissants. However, I know that others tend to love them. The main reason named by bakery employees at Costco was the not to buy these croissants was that they do not stay fresh long enough, given how many are sold at once (To Buy or Not to Buy From the Bakery (Part 2 of 2): Advice From a Bakery Employee)). Therefore, a brunch with several people seems like the ideal time to purchase them.

8. Kirkland Signature Thick-Sliced Bacon

Apparently Costco sells multiple varieties of bacon and the article recommends the Kirkland variety. 

I know people love bacon but I would definitely not be cooking or serving it.

9. Roth Variety Cheese Slices

The author suggests serving these presliced cheeses at brunch. The pack contains Monterey jack, cheddar, Swiss, and colby jack.

I wouldn’t serve unkosher cheese but I do agree that a cheese plate can be a good addition to brunch offerings. I have never tried the kosher variety cheeses plate sold at Costco but I have enjoyed the American cheese in the past (Product Review: kosher American cheese). 

10. Kirkland Signature Organic Orange Juice

This juice is sold in two 59-ounce bottles. The article suggests serving it plain or mixed with the Kirkland prosecco for a mimosa.

Thie price of $11.49 for the two bottles actually seems high to me, but I guess that is to be expected with organic items. Juice is frequently on sale and a better deal at the grocery store (Costco vs. Supermarkets). If not on sale, we buy the four-pack of Tropicana at Costco, as we do not need it to be organic (but it does have to be not from concentrate!). 

11. Bonne Maman Fruit Preserves

The article suggests these fruit preserves to serve on toast or croissants because they contain fruit chunks rather than a lot of pure sugar.

I only eat jam in peanut butter sandwiches (and even rarely because I often prefer plain peanut butter sandwiches) or on matzah during Passover. Therefore, I often forget that others eat it with toast, so this is a good reminder.

12. Mt. Comfort Organic Peru Coffee

The article mentions that Costco sells a variety of coffee options. The author suggests Mt. Comfort Organic Peru coffee. 

I have mentioned before that I don’t drink coffee. However, I know some people are very loyal to certain brands. 

13. Thomas’ Original English Muffins

According to the article, English muffins are a good option for brunch as the base of breakfast sandwiches. 

I am certainly familiar with these English muffins (nooks and crannies, right?). I used to love them toasted and topped with peanut butter or cheese and tomato (and of course, who can forget the English muffin pizza). I don’t think of them for a brunch because they are so much better freshly toasted. In addition, they are often on sale at supermarkets (Costco vs. Supermarkets

14. Pummelo

Apparently, pummelos are in season between December and April and are similar to grapefruits.

I’d be more inclined to serve a fruit salad with seasonal fruit (citrus, apples, pears in fall and winter; melons, berries, peaches in summer) than individual fruits (unless I served watermelon slices in the summer; (Product Review: Watermelons)).

15. Mionetto Brut Prosecco

The author recommends making mimosas or bellinis with this Prosecco.

Not being a drinker, I would not even know how to make drinks. 

16. Cholula Hot Sauce

The author suggests this hot sauce as a condiment to serve with eggs.

I forget about things if I don’t eat them so it is a good reminder that others may like condiments on their eggs.

17. Oatly Oat Milk

The article points out that it is a good idea to have a non-dairy milk available. It recommends Oatly, which is sold in quantities of four half gallons. 

I have tried rice and soy milks but never oat milk. They aren’t bad, but, because I can drink dairy milk, I tend to stick with that. Therefore, I wouldn’t want to buy so much oat milk for the few people who would want it. However, it is a good reminder that it could be a good idea to buy a smaller carton of a non-dairy milk for people.

18. Eggland’s Best Three Cheese Omelets

The author suggests these premade omelets with cheddar, Monterey jack, and parmesan cheeses as an alternative to making homemade ones. She says they are good served whole or cut up for breakfast sandwiches. 

Although premade omelets are a good and convenient idea, these are not kosher so I would not serve them. I actually love making omelets with a variety of fillings. However, because they can take time and are better fresh, I probably would not want to spend the time away from guests to make them. I’d be more inclined to make a lot of scrambled eggs. They are also better fresh but could at least be left on the stove or in the oven in one pan.

19. Belgian Boys Mini Pancakes

These mini pancakes are sold in a box of 72 and can be served with powdered sugar or maple syrup.

This brand is under certification that is controversial. However, I like the idea of mini pancakes as part of brunch as they are a hot option, easy to make, and enable people to have a few without having to “commit” to pancakes as the entire meal. In addition, pancakes are a good excuse to have hot maple syrup (Product Review: Kirkland 100% Pure Maple Syrup).

20. Starbucks Creamer Caramel Macchiato

Apparently, this creamer is a way to make the coffee much sweeter. 

Again, not being a coffee drinker, I would not think about creamers. In addition, I would not want to be left with a lot since I would not have a use for it. 

21. Kirkland Signature Cream Cheese

The author insists on serving cream cheese with the bagels and lox. She recommends the  Kirkland Signature Cream Cheese, which is sold in a six-pack of eight-ounce blocks. 

I am not picky about cream cheese. I don’t think I have ever tried the Kirkland variety, and am most familiar with Philadelphia cream cheese (although whipped is a safer choice for Passover, as it is less like to break the matzahs into a ton of pieces). The prices are good at Costco but the quantities are just so big (I’ve mentioned before that I find the tub of Philadelphia cream cheese very amusing (Free Samples Gone “Too Far”???; (More Comments Unlikely to be Said/Heard at Costco); (Um…not sure it is *quite* big enough.. (Part 1 of 2)); (Funny products)).

22. Kirkland Signature Organic Nonfat Greek Yogurt

The author suggests serving yogurt with a variety of toppings, perhaps as a yogurt bar. 

I love this idea and am very familiar with this yogurt, buying a carton almost every week (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt). It is delicious with granola (Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola), and could also be eaten with nuts, fruit, and maybe a hot blueberry sauce or maybe even maple syrup (Product Review: Kirkland 100% Pure Maple Syrup).

23. La Boulangere Pains au Chocolat

This pastry is sold individually wrapped and contains 16 pieces. 

I will forever associate pain au chocolat with middle school. In introductory French, we learned the foods to order at a cafe and “pain au chocolat avec un Orangina” always sounded delicious. This brand isn’t kosher but something with chocolate is definitely a must for a sweet treat at brunch. However, I’d be more inclined to serve babka. 

24. Nature’s Path Love Crunch Granola

According to the article, Costco tends to sell one variety of this granola at any given time. Apparently it is good plain or with milk or yogurt.

I don’t recall seeing this granola at my local Costco stores. However, I am so satisfied with the granola I get regularly (Product Review: Kirkland Ancient Grains granola), that I don’t look. As mentioned above, it would be a good idea to serve granola with yogurt (Product Review: Kirkland Organic Greek Yogurt) at a brunch. 

25. Fresh berries

The author writes that berries are a good addition to brunch offerings.

Although I like blueberries (Product Review: Blueberries), as mentioned above, I am more inclined to serve a fruit salad. However, berries could be added to the salad.

Although I would not serve all of them, I think that this list has several good ideas for a brunch. There are a few other products sold at Costco that I think would be good additions to a brunch. Some of these are the Eggo waffles (with the syrup, of course (Product Review: Kirkland 100% Pure Maple Syrup)), the whitefish salad ((Product Review: Bluehill Bay Smoked Whitefish Salad); a gathering is a great excuse to buy this large container), cottage cheese (to serve with the fruit; (Product review: Breakstone’s cottage cheese)), and maybe a few other desserts (e.g., cheesecake; cookies) because gatherings are a great way to try desserts i would like a few of without then having such a large amount left.

What do you think about these brunch suggestions? Any others you’d add?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment